Speakers · Head to head

Klipsch RP-504C II vs Polk Audio Reserve R300

The centre-channel upgrade, in two very different boxes — which should you buy?
Try both in a build →Klipsch RP-504C II in the slot, Polk Audio Reserve R300 one swap away.

The short answer

Buy the Klipsch RP-504C II for a dedicated room with real space under the screen: four 5.25-inch woofers in a 32.1-inch cabinet, and the only qualified bass floor on this page at 50 Hz ±3 dB. Buy the Polk Audio Reserve R300 for a credenza, a soundbar-height shelf or a wall-mounted TV: 19 inches wide, 8.9 deep, sealed with no port to keep clear, and the only sheet here that publishes a minimum impedance.

Build around Klipsch RP-504C IIBuild around Polk Audio Reserve R300
As tracked by Home Theater Builder: the Klipsch RP-504C II tracks at $500; the Polk Audio Reserve R300 at $399. How we verify this data →

The first upgrade most people make after the front pair, and these two rows could hardly be less alike ($500 vs $399 as tracked today): a 32-inch-wide ported three-way against a 19-inch sealed two-way.

Klipsch RP-504C IIMFR-VERIFIED
Klipsch
$500
As tracked in our catalog
Full specs & where to buy →
Polk Audio
$399
As tracked in our catalog
Full specs & where to buy →

Specifications · side by side · per-field provenance

● SOURCE-TRACKED
SpecKlipsch RP-504C IIPolk Audio Reserve R300
Price$500$399
BrandKlipschPolk Audio
Speaker typecenter channelcenter channel
Way configuration3-way2-way
Woofer count42
Woofer size (in)5.255.25
Tweeter size (in)11
Impedance, nominal (Ω)8not stated
Sensitivity (dB @ 1 W/1 m)9686.5
Sensitivity measurement contextunstatedunstated
Frequency response, low (Hz)5065
Frequency response, high (Hz)2500038000
Frequency response toleranceplus minus 3dBunstated
Peak power handling (W)600not stated
Enclosure typebass reflex portedsealed
Port locationrearnone
Binding postssingle wiresingle wire
Grille includedYesnot stated
Height (in)6.96.8
Width (in)32.119
Depth (in)15.18.9
Weight (lbs)36.316.8
Finish optionsEbony, WalnutBlack, Walnut
Intended rolesnot statedcenter
Impedance, minimum (Ω)not stated3.8
Recommended power, min (W)not stated30
Recommended power, max (W)not stated200
Sold asnot statedeach
Shaded rows differ · green dot = lab-measured · amber = manufacturer-verified · blue = retailer/community-reported · grey = estimated · “not stated” means exactly that

Reading the numbers honestly

The impedance disclosure on this page is complementary rather than comparable: Klipsch states an 8Ω NOMINAL and no minimum; Polk states a 3.8Ω MINIMUM and no nominal. Neither sheet publishes the number the other publishes, so a load ranking cannot be made from what is stated — what can be said is that the Polk's published worst case is a genuinely demanding one, and the Klipsch's worst case is unknown rather than proven easy. Sensitivity: 96 dB (Klipsch) against 86.5 dB (Polk), both stored with an UNSTATED measurement context. Two unstated conventions are not one yardstick, and our rule is never to rank sensitivity across contexts, so the printed 9.5 dB gap is flagged here rather than scored. Bass: the Klipsch's 50 Hz floor is stated at ±3 dB while the Polk's 65 Hz carries an UNSTATED tolerance, so only one of the two claims is qualified. And the physical difference is the one most buyers hit first: 32.1 inches wide, 15.1 deep and 36.3 pounds, rear-ported, against 19 inches wide, 8.9 deep and 16.8 pounds, sealed with no port at all.

Compatibility · computed, not written

Checked against a popular budget receiver, the Denon AVR-X1800H (80W per channel into 8Ω): Denon AVR-X1800H

Will the Klipsch RP-504C II work with a receiver like the Denon AVR-X1800H?

Klipsch RP-504C II states 8Ω nominal with no published minimum — inside the Denon AVR-X1800H's stated 4Ω-minimum rating.

Will the Polk Audio Reserve R300 work with a receiver like the Denon AVR-X1800H?

Polk Audio Reserve R300 dips to a stated 3.8Ω minimum — below the Denon AVR-X1800H's stated 4Ω-minimum rating, so this pairing sits outside the receiver's published spec.

Computed from the catalog's normalized fields — the same fields the builder's compatibility engine reads. A missing field reads as "can't check", never as a pass.

The verdict

Buy the Klipsch RP-504C II for a dedicated room with real space under the screen: four 5.25-inch woofers in a 32.1-inch cabinet, and the only qualified bass floor on this page at 50 Hz ±3 dB. Buy the Polk Audio Reserve R300 for a credenza, a soundbar-height shelf or a wall-mounted TV: 19 inches wide, 8.9 deep, sealed with no port to keep clear, and the only sheet here that publishes a minimum impedance.

A dedicated room with space under the screenKlipsch RP-504C II — Four 5.25-inch woofers in a 32.1-inch cabinet and a 50 Hz floor stated at ±3 dB — the only qualified bass claim on the page.
A credenza or a wall-mounted TVPolk Audio Reserve R300 — 19 inches wide, 8.9 deep and 16.8 pounds, sealed with no port — a little over half the width and no rear clearance to find.
Checking the amplifier loadPolk Audio Reserve R300 — Polk publishes a 3.8Ω minimum; Klipsch publishes only an 8Ω nominal, so the Klipsch's worst case is unknown rather than proven easy.
Reading the sensitivity figuresEither — 96 dB against 86.5 dB with BOTH measurement contexts UNSTATED — two brands' unstated conventions are not one yardstick, so this row is flagged rather than ranked.
Amplifier appetitePolk Audio Reserve R300 — Polk states a 30-200W recommended range a receiver's rating can be matched to; Klipsch states a 600W peak power handling, which is a different quantity.
Price todayEither — Whichever sits lower in the price row on the day — $500 vs $399 as tracked, the Polk lower by $101.

Where to buy

CHEAPEST FIRST · NOT COMMISSION-RANKED
Klipsch RP-504C II
$500
Cheapest tracked offer · safeandsoundhq.com
CHECKED TODAY
Buy at safeandsoundhq.com ↗
Polk Audio Reserve R300
$399
Cheapest tracked offer · polkaudio.com
CHECKED TODAY
Buy at polkaudio.com ↗
We may earn a commission at no cost to you; it never affects rankings or compatibility verdicts — those come from the data.
Or start from your room instead: take the 60-second interview →

What our normalized data adds

NOT ON THE SPEC SHEETS
  • The impedance disclosure is complementary, not comparable: Klipsch states an 8Ω NOMINAL with no minimum; Polk states a 3.8Ω MINIMUM with no nominal. Neither sheet publishes the figure the other one does.
  • Only one bass claim on this page is qualified: 50 Hz stated at ±3 dB (Klipsch) against 65 Hz with tolerance UNSTATED (Polk).
  • 96 dB against 86.5 dB with BOTH measurement contexts UNSTATED — neither sheet says what its figure was measured under, so the printed 9.5 dB gap is flagged as unrankable rather than repeated at face value or adjusted by a brand convention.
  • These two cabinets are not interchangeable furniture: 32.1 x 6.9 x 15.1 inches and 36.3 pounds, rear-ported, against 19 x 6.8 x 8.9 inches and 16.8 pounds, sealed with no port to keep clear.
  • The power figures are different quantities: a 30-200W recommended amplifier range (Polk) against a 600W peak power handling (Klipsch) — only the first can be matched to a receiver's rating.
  • Both are centre channels priced per unit in our catalog, so no pair doubling is applied to either side ($500 vs $399 as tracked today).
Not the exact matchup you wanted?
Swap either product, or add a third, in the compare tool. Or read the guide: 4 ohm vs 8 ohm speakers: sensitivity and impedance, explained.
Add a third speaker to this comparison →Browse Speakers

More Speakers comparisons

Klipsch RP-600M II vs KEF LS50 MetaPolk Audio Signature Elite ES20 vs ELAC Debut 2.0 DB62KEF R3 Meta vs KEF LS50 MetaKlipsch RP-8000F II vs Polk Audio Reserve R700