Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20 vs ELAC Debut 2.0 DB62
The entry-tier bookshelf fight — which should you buy?
Try both in a build →Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20 in the slot, ELAC Debut 2.0 DB62 one tap away.
The short answer
On the spec sheets these two are a dead heat: both are 2-way bookshelves with 6.5-inch and 6.25-inch woofers, both stated down to 44 Hz with no tolerance, 88 vs 87 dB with neither measurement context stated, both sold by the pair. Where the sheets differ is what you can act on — ELAC states 6Ω nominal (a load your receiver's rating can be checked against) and a front port in a 10.6-inch-deep cabinet; Polk states no impedance figure but a 20–150W recommended amplifier range and the fractionally larger woofer. Buy on placement and today's price — $279/pair vs $349/pair as tracked, the Polk $70/pair lower.
As tracked by Home Theater Builder: the Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20 tracks at $279/pair; the ELAC Debut 2.0 DB62 at $349/pair.How we verify this data →
The entry tier where every dollar is argued about — and where, on the spec sheets, these two barely differ. Both are pair-priced in our catalog ($279/pair vs $349/pair as tracked today); the differences worth reading are what each brand states, not how deep it goes.
Specifications · side by side · per-field provenance
● SOURCE-TRACKED
Spec
Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20
ELAC Debut 2.0 DB62
Price
$279 /pair
$349 /pair
Brand
Polk Audio
ELAC
Speaker Type
bookshelf standmount
bookshelf standmount
Way Config
2-way
2-way
Woofer Count
1
1
Woofer Size Inches
6.5
6.25
Tweeter Size Inches
1
1
Sensitivity DB 1w1m
88
87
Sensitivity Measurement Context
unstated
unstated
Freq Response Low HZ
44
44
Freq Response High HZ
40000
35000
Freq Response Tolerance
unstated
unstated
Recommended Power Min W
20
not stated
Recommended Power Max W
150
not stated
Crossover Frequency HZ
2500
200
Enclosure Type
bass reflex ported
bass reflex ported
Binding Posts
single wire
single wire
Grille Included
Yes
not stated
Height Inches
14.8
14.8
Width Inches
8.5
7.7
Depth Inches
13.8
10.6
Weight Lbs
17
16.3
Sold As
pair
pair
Tweeter Type
not stated
soft dome
Impedance Nominal Ohms
not stated
6
Peak Power Handling W
not stated
120
Port Location
not stated
front
Finish Options
not stated
Black Ash vinyl
Shaded rows differ · green dot = lab-measured · amber = manufacturer-verified · blue = retailer/community-reported · grey = estimated · “not stated” means exactly that
Reading the numbers honestly
Two disclosure gaps and one cabinet difference decide this page. Impedance: Polk publishes NO impedance figure in our normalized data — neither nominal nor minimum — so a receiver match cannot be checked from its sheet; ELAC states 6Ω nominal (no minimum), a slightly harder load than an 8Ω-nominal design but one that clears the builder's 3.5Ω safety floor and can be checked against any receiver that states a range (the Denon AVR-X1800H below states none, so the check falls back to that floor). Bass: both state a 44 Hz floor and neither states a tolerance — the same unqualified claim on both sheets. Cabinet: ELAC states a front port and a 10.6-inch depth; Polk's port location is unstated in our data and its cabinet is 13.8 inches deep. Price units: both are pair-priced in our catalog — $279/pair vs $349/pair as tracked today; list prices $399/pair and $349/pair.
Compatibility · computed, not written
Checked against a popular budget receiver, the Denon AVR-X1800H (80W per channel into 8Ω): Denon AVR-X1800H
Will the Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20 work with a receiver like the Denon AVR-X1800H?
Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20 publishes no impedance figures at all in our data — its amplifier demand can't be judged from the spec sheet.
Will the ELAC Debut 2.0 DB62 work with a receiver like the Denon AVR-X1800H?
ELAC Debut 2.0 DB62 states 6Ω nominal with no published minimum — inside the Denon AVR-X1800H's stated 4Ω-minimum rating.
Computed from the catalog's normalized fields — the same fields the builder's compatibility engine reads. A missing field reads as "can't check", never as a pass.
On the spec sheets these two are a dead heat: both are 2-way bookshelves with 6.5-inch and 6.25-inch woofers, both stated down to 44 Hz with no tolerance, 88 vs 87 dB with neither measurement context stated, both sold by the pair. Where the sheets differ is what you can act on — ELAC states 6Ω nominal (a load your receiver's rating can be checked against) and a front port in a 10.6-inch-deep cabinet; Polk states no impedance figure but a 20–150W recommended amplifier range and the fractionally larger woofer. Buy on placement and today's price — $279/pair vs $349/pair as tracked, the Polk $70/pair lower.
Bass extensionEither — Both state a 44 Hz floor with no stated tolerance — identical claims, equally unqualified.
A receiver match you can verifyELAC Debut 2.0 DB62 — ELAC states 6Ω nominal, so the builder can check it against a receiver's rating; Polk states no impedance figure, so the check reports unknown — not evidence of a hard load, just an unverifiable one.
Shelf or near-wall placementELAC Debut 2.0 DB62 — ELAC states a front port and a 10.6-inch-deep cabinet; Polk's port location is unstated in our data and its cabinet is 13.8 inches deep.
Sensitivity and powerEither — 88 vs 87 dB with neither context stated is not a ranking; Polk's 20–150W recommended range and ELAC's 120W maximum input are different quantities, and the receiver below (80W/8Ω, two channels driven) sits inside both.
Price todayEither — Both price by the pair — $279/pair vs $349/pair as tracked; the Polk is the lower of the two today.
Where to buy
CHEAPEST FIRST · NOT COMMISSION-RANKED
Polk Audio Signature Elite ES20
Tracked at Crutchfield · price not quotable from a search page
Polk publishes NO impedance figure (nominal or minimum) in our normalized data; ELAC states 6Ω nominal with no minimum — the builder can run a receiver check on one of them and not the other.
Sensitivity 88 vs 87 dB — Polk states no measurement context, and one decibel is inside method-to-method noise — flagged as non-comparable rather than ranked.
Both state a 44 Hz floor and neither states a tolerance — a dead heat on paper, and neither number is qualified.
Cabinet: the ELAC states a front port and a 10.6-inch depth; the Polk is 13.8 inches deep with its port location unstated in our data — a placement difference the shared 44 Hz figure hides.
Pricing-unit honesty: both are pair-priced in our catalog — $279/pair vs $349/pair tracked today, against list prices of $399/pair and $349/pair.
Not the exact matchup you wanted?
Swap either product, or add a third, in the compare tool.