The tower fight where the price tags lie — which should you buy?
Try both in a build →Klipsch RP-8000F II in the slot, Polk Audio Reserve R700 one tap away.
The short answer
Buy the Polk Reserve R700 if your receiver can feed it — its price is stated for the PAIR ($1,080/pair as tracked today), it discloses its 3.6Ω minimum and 100W appetite honestly, and it states a 38 Hz floor. Buy the Klipsch RP-8000F II for high-sensitivity effortlessness, knowing the honest pair price is double its per-speaker sticker ($3,200/pair as tracked today).
As tracked by Home Theater Builder: the Klipsch RP-8000F II tracks at $3,200/pair; the Polk Audio Reserve R700 at $1,080/pair.How we verify this data →
Two flagship-adjacent towers whose stickers can point the wrong way: Klipsch states its price per speaker and Polk per pair — so the retail sticker order and the honest per-pair order need not agree (our catalog prices both as pairs: $3,200/pair vs $1,080/pair as tracked today).
Specifications · side by side · per-field provenance
● SOURCE-TRACKED
Spec
Klipsch RP-8000F II
Polk Audio Reserve R700
Price
$3,200 /pair
$1,080 /pair
Brand
Klipsch
Polk Audio
Speaker Type
floorstanding tower
floorstanding tower
Atmos Enabled
No
not stated
Way Config
2-way
3-way
Woofer Count
2
2
Woofer Size Inches
8
8
Tweeter Type
horn compression
not stated
Tweeter Size Inches
1
1
Impedance Nominal Ohms
8
not stated
Sensitivity DB 1w1m
98
88
Sensitivity Measurement Context
unstated
unstated
Freq Response Low HZ
35
38
Freq Response High HZ
25000
37000
Freq Response Tolerance
plus minus 3dB
unstated
Recommended Power Max W
150
300
Peak Power Handling W
600
not stated
Crossover Frequency HZ
1630
not stated
Enclosure Type
bass reflex ported
bass reflex ported
Port Location
rear
not stated
Binding Posts
bi-amp
not stated
Grille Included
Yes
not stated
Height Inches
43.1
46.7
Width Inches
10.8
13
Depth Inches
18.3
15.9
Weight Lbs
61.4
77.9
Sold As
each
pair
Finish Options
Ebony, Walnut
not stated
Midrange Size Inches
not stated
6.5
Impedance Minimum Ohms
not stated
3.6
Recommended Power Min W
not stated
50
Shaded rows differ · green dot = lab-measured · amber = manufacturer-verified · blue = retailer/community-reported · grey = estimated · “not stated” means exactly that
Reading the numbers honestly
The pricing-unit trap, in full: Klipsch's price is stated per EACH, so a left/right pair is double the sticker. Polk's is stated per PAIR. Our catalog prices both as pairs so the comparison is honest — $3,200/pair vs $1,080/pair as tracked today, and on that basis the tower with the smaller sticker is the more expensive pair by $2,120/pair. On sensitivity, the printed 98 vs 88 dB gap carries unstated context on both sides, and our source notes record Klipsch's figures as in-room (~3 dB above the anechoic standard) — still a big real gap, not a 10 dB one. Polk disclosures worth respecting: a stated 3.6Ω minimum and a stated 100W recommended minimum — this tower asks for a serious receiver. One data flag: the Klipsch bass-floor field reads 25,000 Hz in our source data — an error we render as unstated.
Compatibility · computed, not written
Checked against a popular budget receiver, the Denon AVR-X1800H (80W per channel into 8Ω): Denon AVR-X1800H
Will the Klipsch RP-8000F II work with a receiver like the Denon AVR-X1800H?
Klipsch RP-8000F II states 8Ω nominal with no published minimum — inside the Denon AVR-X1800H's stated 4Ω-minimum rating.
Will the Polk Audio Reserve R700 work with a receiver like the Denon AVR-X1800H?
Polk Audio Reserve R700 dips to a stated 3.6Ω minimum — below the Denon AVR-X1800H's stated 4Ω-minimum rating, so this pairing sits outside the receiver's published spec.
Computed from the catalog's normalized fields — the same fields the builder's compatibility engine reads. A missing field reads as "can't check", never as a pass.
Buy the Polk Reserve R700 if your receiver can feed it — its price is stated for the PAIR ($1,080/pair as tracked today), it discloses its 3.6Ω minimum and 100W appetite honestly, and it states a 38 Hz floor. Buy the Klipsch RP-8000F II for high-sensitivity effortlessness, knowing the honest pair price is double its per-speaker sticker ($3,200/pair as tracked today).
Price per actual pairPolk Audio Reserve R700 — Polk states its price per pair; Klipsch per each — $1,080/pair vs $3,200/pair as tracked today, so the sticker order flips once the sale unit is applied.
Modest receiver / high outputKlipsch RP-8000F II — Even read skeptically, the Klipsch's sensitivity advantage is decisive; the Polk states a 100W recommended minimum.
Spec transparencyPolk Audio Reserve R700 — Polk states its minimum impedance and power floor; Klipsch publishes 8Ω nominal with no minimum, and its bass-floor figure in our data is unusable.
Where to buy
CHEAPEST FIRST · NOT COMMISSION-RANKED
Klipsch RP-8000F II
Tracked at Best Buy · price not quotable from a search page
The pricing-unit trap made explicit: Klipsch states its price per EACH, Polk per PAIR — our catalog normalizes both to a pair figure ($3,200/pair vs $1,080/pair as tracked today), and the honest per-pair math reverses the apparent sticker order.
98 vs 88 dB claimed sensitivity, both contexts unstated, with our source notes recording Klipsch figures as in-room — the printed 10 dB gap is flagged, not repeated at face value.
Polk states a 3.6Ω minimum impedance AND a 100W recommended minimum — a disclosed amplifier demand Klipsch's sheet has no equivalent for (8Ω nominal, no minimum).
The Klipsch freq-response floor reads 25,000 Hz in our source data — rendered as unstated (data error), not as a spec.
Not the exact matchup you wanted?
Swap either product, or add a third, in the compare tool.