Buy the Klipsch RP-1200SW when it tracks this far below the SVS — $300 today. Its 16.5 Hz ±3 dB floor is the better-documented extension claim of the two, and the SVS's stated extras (a 550W vs 400W RMS amp, room-gain compensation, app control) are not worth a gap that size. Read the extension claims honestly either way: the Klipsch's 16.5 Hz is stated ±3 dB while the SVS's 16 Hz carries no stated tolerance, so the numbers are near-identical and only one is qualified. Which to buy is a price call — the row above decides it.
As tracked by Home Theater Builder: the SVS PB-2000 Pro tracks at $1,200; the Klipsch RP-1200SW at $900.How we verify this data →
Two ported 12-inch subwoofers — $1,200 vs $900 as tracked today. The extension figures look nearly identical — 16 Hz vs 16.5 Hz — until you check whose tolerance is actually stated, and neither sheet makes one of them the deeper sub on paper. This is a price call, and the verdict below is written to move with the price row.
Specifications · side by side · per-field provenance
● SOURCE-TRACKED
Spec
SVS PB-2000 Pro
Klipsch RP-1200SW
Price
$1,200
$900
Brand
SVS
Klipsch
Driver Size Inches
12
12
Driver Count
1
1
Driver Config
single
single
Passive Or Powered
powered active
powered active
RMS Watts
550
400
Peak Watts
1500
800
Freq Response Low HZ
16
16.5
Freq Response Tolerance
unstated
plus minus 3dB
Enclosure Type
ported bass reflex
ported bass reflex
Lp Crossover HZ Min
30
not stated
Lp Crossover HZ Max
200
not stated
Phase Control
variable 0 to 180
not stated
Phase Adjustment Range Degrees
0° – 180°
not stated
Auto On
Yes
not stated
Built In Room Correction
Yes
not stated
App Control
Yes
not stated
Wireless Option
Yes
Yes
RCA Inputs
2
2
LFE Input
Yes
Yes
Height Inches
20.9
18.9
Width Inches
17.3
17
Depth Inches
23.6
25.9
Weight Lbs
64.2
68.6
Amp Class
not stated
Class D
Max SPL DB
not stated
121
Sensitivity Measurement Context
not stated
unstated
Port Location
not stated
front
Down Firing
not stated
No
Finish Options
not stated
Ebony Vinyl
Shaded rows differ · green dot = lab-measured · amber = manufacturer-verified · blue = retailer/community-reported · grey = estimated · “not stated” means exactly that
Reading the numbers honestly
Honesty cuts both ways on this page: Klipsch states its 16.5 Hz floor at ±3 dB — the strict yardstick — while the SVS's 16 Hz figure carries an UNSTATED tolerance in our data. As printed, the Klipsch number is the better-qualified claim. What the SVS sheet states that the Klipsch's does not: a 550W vs 400W RMS amplifier, room-gain compensation and app control. What the Klipsch states that the SVS does not: a 121 dB maximum acoustic output — quoted here with the companion field beside it, which records that figure's measurement context as UNSTATED. Neither list makes one of them the deeper sub, so the tracked prices carry the verdict — $1,200 vs $900 today.
The verdict
Buy the Klipsch RP-1200SW when it tracks this far below the SVS — $300 today. Its 16.5 Hz ±3 dB floor is the better-documented extension claim of the two, and the SVS's stated extras (a 550W vs 400W RMS amp, room-gain compensation, app control) are not worth a gap that size. Read the extension claims honestly either way: the Klipsch's 16.5 Hz is stated ±3 dB while the SVS's 16 Hz carries no stated tolerance, so the numbers are near-identical and only one is qualified. Which to buy is a price call — the row above decides it.
Documented extension claimKlipsch RP-1200SW — 16.5 Hz WITH a stated ±3 dB tolerance vs 16 Hz with none — near-identical numbers, and only one of them is qualified.
Output and controlSVS PB-2000 Pro — 550W vs 400W RMS (1,500W vs 800W peak), plus stated room-gain compensation and app control; the Klipsch states none of the three.
Stated maximum outputKlipsch RP-1200SW — The Klipsch states a 121 dB maximum acoustic output, with its measurement context stored as unstated; the SVS states no max-SPL figure at all — the one output number on the page belongs to the smaller amp, and it arrives without a test condition.
Price todayEither — Whichever sits lower in the price row — $1,200 vs $900 as tracked today, the Klipsch by $300; the verdict above is written to move with it.
Where to buy
CHEAPEST FIRST · NOT COMMISSION-RANKED
SVS PB-2000 Pro
Tracked at Best Buy · price not quotable from a search page
The better-qualified extension claim is the Klipsch's: 16.5 Hz stated ±3 dB vs SVS 16 Hz with UNSTATED tolerance — honesty cuts both ways and this time it favors the Klipsch.
550W vs 400W RMS (1,500W vs 800W peak), plus stated room-gain compensation and app control on the SVS — the Klipsch states none of the three — and $300 as tracked today is what those stated extras cost.
The Klipsch states a 121 dB maximum acoustic output — with the companion field beside it recording that figure's measurement context as UNSTATED — while the SVS states no max-SPL figure at all: the only output number on the page belongs to the smaller amplifier, and it arrives without a test condition.
Both are ported 12" designs — $1,200 vs $900 tracked today (1.3×); the live price column above is the number to compare.