Buy the SVS PB-1000 Pro when it tracks this far below the Klipsch, as it does today — $250 lower, with auto-on, app control, speaker-level inputs and a box six inches shallower. Read the depth claims straight either way: 17 Hz (SVS) and 16.5 Hz (Klipsch) are both stated at ±3 dB, so the extension question is a genuine draw on one yardstick. The Klipsch's 121 dB is the only maximum-output figure here, and its measurement context is stored as unstated.
As tracked by Home Theater Builder: the SVS PB-1000 Pro tracks at $850; the Klipsch RP-1200SW at $1,100.How we verify this data →
The same brand matchup as our PB-2000 Pro page, one rung down ($850 vs $1,100 as tracked today) — and this time both sheets state the same tolerance, so the depth numbers can be read straight off the page.
Specifications · side by side · per-field provenance
● SOURCE-TRACKED
Spec
SVS PB-1000 Pro
Klipsch RP-1200SW
Price
$850
$1,100
Brand
SVS
Klipsch
Driver size (in)
12
12
Driver count
1
1
Driver configuration
single
single
Passive or powered
powered active
powered active
Amplifier class
Class D
Class D
RMS power (W)
325
400
Peak power (W)
820
800
Frequency response, low (Hz)
17
16.5
Frequency response tolerance
plus minus 3dB
plus minus 3dB
Enclosure type
ported bass reflex
ported bass reflex
Auto on
Yes
not stated
App control
Yes
not stated
RCA inputs
2
2
Speaker level inputs
Yes
not stated
Height (in)
18.9
18.9
Width (in)
15
17
Depth (in)
20
25.9
Weight (lbs)
42.5
68.6
Max SPL (dB @ 1 m)
not stated
121
Sensitivity measurement context
not stated
unstated
Port location
not stated
front
Down firing
not stated
No
Wireless option
not stated
Yes
LFE input
not stated
Yes
Finish options
not stated
Ebony Vinyl
Shaded rows differ · green dot = lab-measured · amber = manufacturer-verified · blue = retailer/community-reported · grey = estimated · “not stated” means exactly that
Reading the numbers honestly
This is the like-for-like the bigger SVS-versus-Klipsch page could not make: the PB-2000 Pro's 16 Hz carries an unstated tolerance, but the PB-1000 Pro's 17 Hz and the RP-1200SW's 16.5 Hz are BOTH stated at ±3 dB. Half a hertz on the same yardstick — the depth question is settled, and it settles as a draw. The amplifier figures split and largely cancel: 400W RMS (Klipsch) against 325W (SVS) is roughly 0.9 dB of output, while peak power runs 820W (SVS) against 800W (Klipsch). Only the Klipsch states a maximum acoustic output at all, at 121 dB — and the companion field beside it records that figure's measurement context as UNSTATED, so it is a ceiling with no test condition attached; the SVS states no max-SPL figure at all. What the SVS states that the Klipsch's row does not: auto-on, app control and speaker-level inputs. What the Klipsch states that the SVS's row does not: a front port, an LFE input and a wireless option. And the boxes are not the same object at all — 20 inches deep and 42.5 pounds against 25.9 inches deep and 68.6 pounds, at the same 18.9-inch height. With depth a draw and the amplifier figures crossing, the price row above is what is left to decide it.
The verdict
Buy the SVS PB-1000 Pro when it tracks this far below the Klipsch, as it does today — $250 lower, with auto-on, app control, speaker-level inputs and a box six inches shallower. Read the depth claims straight either way: 17 Hz (SVS) and 16.5 Hz (Klipsch) are both stated at ±3 dB, so the extension question is a genuine draw on one yardstick. The Klipsch's 121 dB is the only maximum-output figure here, and its measurement context is stored as unstated.
Depth, like for likeEither — 17 Hz against 16.5 Hz, BOTH stated at ±3 dB — half a hertz on the same yardstick is a draw, and a same-yardstick depth comparison across brands is rare.
Output headroomKlipsch RP-1200SW — 400W against 325W RMS is roughly 0.9 dB, and the Klipsch is the only one of the two to state a maximum acoustic output at all, at 121 dB — with its measurement context stored as unstated, so it is a ceiling with no test condition attached; peak power runs the other way, 820W against 800W.
Setup and controlSVS PB-1000 Pro — SVS states auto-on, app control and speaker-level inputs, none of which appears on the Klipsch's row; the Klipsch states an LFE input and a wireless option the SVS's row does not.
Fitting the roomSVS PB-1000 Pro — 20 inches deep and 42.5 pounds against 25.9 inches deep and 68.6 pounds at the same height, and the Klipsch's port is stated as front-firing while the SVS's port location is unstated.
Price todayEither — Whichever sits lower in the price row on the day — $850 vs $1,100 as tracked, the SVS lower by $250.
Where to buy
CHEAPEST FIRST · NOT COMMISSION-RANKED
SVS PB-1000 Pro
Tracked at Best Buy · price not quotable from a search page
A genuinely like-for-like depth comparison, which the sibling PB-2000 Pro page could not make: 17 Hz (SVS) and 16.5 Hz (Klipsch) are BOTH stated at ±3 dB — half a hertz on the same yardstick.
The amplifier figures cross: 400W against 325W RMS favours the Klipsch by roughly 0.9 dB, while peak power is 820W against 800W the other way — which sub has the bigger amplifier depends entirely on which row you read.
Only the Klipsch states a maximum acoustic output, at 121 dB — and the companion field beside it records that figure's measurement context as UNSTATED, so we quote it as a ceiling with no test condition attached rather than as a measured one. The SVS states no max-SPL figure at all.
Stated features split three-for-three: auto-on, app control and speaker-level inputs on the SVS only; a front port, an LFE input and a wireless option on the Klipsch only.
Cabinet: 18.9 x 15 x 20 inches and 42.5 pounds against 18.9 x 17 x 25.9 inches and 68.6 pounds — identical height, six inches of extra depth and twenty-six extra pounds.
Both prices in the row above are live and both move — $850 vs $1,100 today; the extension difference is fixed at half a hertz.