A stated 15-inch against a fuller feature list — which should you buy?
Try both in a build →Hsu Research VTF-3 MK5 HP in the slot, SVS PB-2000 Pro one tap away.
The short answer
Neither sheet supports a depth claim you can check, so this page does not make one: our Hsu row records no frequency figure at all, and the SVS's 16 Hz carries an unstated tolerance and no recorded source. Buy the Hsu Research VTF-3 MK5 HP for the stated hardware — a manufacturer-stated 15-inch driver with 600W RMS and a 2,000W peak, plus speaker-level inputs for a receiver with no subwoofer output. Buy the SVS PB-2000 Pro for the setup features: a 30–200 Hz low-pass range, variable 0–180° phase, built-in room correction, app control, a wireless option and an LFE input, none of which the other row records — noting that its 12-inch driver size is an inference in our data and its 550W and 1,500W amplifier figures carry no recorded source.
As tracked by Home Theater Builder: the Hsu Research VTF-3 MK5 HP tracks at $1,049; the SVS PB-2000 Pro at $1,200.How we verify this data →
Hsu's VTF-3 MK5 HP and SVS's PB-2000 Pro are the ported subwoofers this tier keeps coming down to — $1,049 vs $1,200 as tracked today. Neither row supports a depth claim you can check, which is the first honest thing to say about them.
Specifications · side by side · per-field provenance
● SOURCE-TRACKED
Spec
Hsu Research VTF-3 MK5 HP
SVS PB-2000 Pro
Price
$1,049
$1,200
Brand
Hsu Research
SVS
Driver Size Inches
15
12
Driver Config
single
single
Passive Or Powered
powered active
powered active
RMS Watts
600
550
Peak Watts
2000
1500
Enclosure Type
ported bass reflex
ported bass reflex
Down Firing
No
not stated
Phase Control
0 180 switch
variable 0 to 180
RCA Inputs
2
2
Speaker Level Inputs
Yes
not stated
Height Inches
24
20.9
Width Inches
17.3
17.3
Depth Inches
21.5
23.6
Weight Lbs
85
64.2
Finish Options
smooth satin black painted finish
not stated
Driver Count
not stated
1
Freq Response Low HZ
not stated
16
Freq Response Tolerance
not stated
unstated
Lp Crossover HZ Min
not stated
30
Lp Crossover HZ Max
not stated
200
Phase Adjustment Range Degrees
not stated
0° – 180°
Auto On
not stated
Yes
Built In Room Correction
not stated
Yes
App Control
not stated
Yes
Wireless Option
not stated
Yes
LFE Input
not stated
Yes
Shaded rows differ · green dot = lab-measured · amber = manufacturer-verified · blue = retailer/community-reported · grey = estimated · “not stated” means exactly that
Reading the numbers honestly
Start with what is missing, because it is unusual for both rows at once. Our Hsu row records NO frequency-extension figure at all, and the SVS's 16 Hz carries a tolerance recorded as UNSTATED and no manufacturer sourcing either — so there is no checkable depth claim on this page in either direction, and nothing below rests on one. The stated hardware runs the Hsu's way: a manufacturer-stated 15-inch driver with 600W RMS and a 2,000W peak, against a 12-inch driver size that is an inference in our data and 550W/1,500W amplifier figures with no recorded source. Both are stated ported bass-reflex designs with two RCA inputs, and the Hsu states its down-firing answer as an explicit No. The setup fields run the other way: the SVS states a 30–200 Hz low-pass range, variable 0–180° phase, built-in room correction, app control, a wireless option and an LFE input, and our Hsu row records none of the six, offering a two-position 0/180° phase switch instead. Connection inverts it once more — speaker-level inputs are stated on the Hsu row and absent from ours for the SVS, which is what a receiver with no subwoofer output needs. One provenance note on the cabinets: the Hsu states 24 × 17.3 × 21.5 inches and 85 lb outright, while our SVS row's dimensions and 64.2 lb weight carry no recorded source at all.
The verdict
Neither sheet supports a depth claim you can check, so this page does not make one: our Hsu row records no frequency figure at all, and the SVS's 16 Hz carries an unstated tolerance and no recorded source. Buy the Hsu Research VTF-3 MK5 HP for the stated hardware — a manufacturer-stated 15-inch driver with 600W RMS and a 2,000W peak, plus speaker-level inputs for a receiver with no subwoofer output. Buy the SVS PB-2000 Pro for the setup features: a 30–200 Hz low-pass range, variable 0–180° phase, built-in room correction, app control, a wireless option and an LFE input, none of which the other row records — noting that its 12-inch driver size is an inference in our data and its 550W and 1,500W amplifier figures carry no recorded source.
A depth claim you can checkEither — Neither row has one: our Hsu row records no frequency figure at all, and the SVS's 16 Hz carries an unstated tolerance and no recorded source.
Stated driver and amplifierHsu Research VTF-3 MK5 HP — A manufacturer-stated 15-inch driver with 600W RMS and a 2,000W peak, against a 12-inch driver size that is an inference in our data and 550W/1,500W figures with no recorded source.
Room correction and app controlSVS PB-2000 Pro — Built-in room correction, app control and a wireless option are stated on the SVS row; our Hsu row records none of the three.
Dialling it in from the subSVS PB-2000 Pro — A 30–200 Hz low-pass range and variable 0–180° phase on the SVS, against a two-position 0/180° phase switch and no low-pass range on the Hsu.
A receiver with no subwoofer outputHsu Research VTF-3 MK5 HP — Speaker-level inputs are stated on the Hsu row; our SVS row records two RCA inputs and an LFE input but no speaker-level input.
Getting it into the roomSVS PB-2000 Pro — 64.2 lb against 85 lb — though the SVS's weight and cabinet dimensions carry no recorded source in our data, where the Hsu's 24 × 17.3 × 21.5 inches are manufacturer-stated.
Neither row supports a checkable depth claim, and this page says so instead of inventing one: our Hsu row records no frequency figure at all, and the SVS's 16 Hz carries an UNSTATED tolerance and no recorded source.
The stated hardware runs the Hsu's way: a manufacturer-stated 15-inch driver with 600W RMS and a 2,000W peak, against a 12-inch driver size that is an inference in our data and 550W/1,500W figures with no recorded source.
Both are stated ported bass-reflex designs with two RCA inputs, and only the Hsu row states its down-firing answer as an explicit No — the family resemblance is checked field by field rather than assumed.
Six setup fields sit on the SVS row and not on ours for the Hsu: a 30–200 Hz low-pass range, variable 0–180° phase, built-in room correction, app control, a wireless option and an LFE input.
It runs the other way on connection: speaker-level inputs are stated on the Hsu row and absent from ours for the SVS, which is the difference for a receiver with no subwoofer output.
Provenance honesty on the cabinets: the Hsu states 24 × 17.3 × 21.5 inches and 85 lb outright, while our SVS row's dimensions and 64.2 lb weight carry no recorded source at all — at $1,049 vs $1,200 as tracked today.