Speakers · Head to head

Klipsch RP-600M II vs Polk Audio Reserve R200

Two 6.5-inch bookshelf pairs — which should you buy?
Try both in a build →Klipsch RP-600M II in the slot, Polk Audio Reserve R200 one tap away.

The short answer

Neither sheet supports the comparison this pair is usually made on. Both sensitivity figures — 94.5 dB and 86 dB — carry an UNSTATED measurement context in our data, so the 8.5 dB that looks decisive sits between two unlabelled yardsticks and we rank nothing on it. Buy the Klipsch RP-600M II if a stated 1,500 Hz crossover point, a stated horn-compression tweeter and a 44 Hz bass figure qualified at ±3 dB are what you want on the sheet. Buy the Polk Audio Reserve R200 if a stated 3.8Ω minimum impedance — the field a receiver match is actually checked against — and a third finish option matter more, and read the price row above either way, where the Klipsch tracks $99/pair under the Polk today.

Build around Klipsch RP-600M IIBuild around Polk Audio Reserve R200
As tracked by Home Theater Builder: the Klipsch RP-600M II tracks at $700/pair; the Polk Audio Reserve R200 at $799/pair. How we verify this data →

Klipsch's RP-600M II and Polk's Reserve R200 are the two 6.5-inch bookshelf pairs this cross-shop keeps returning to — $700/pair vs $799/pair as tracked today. The number everyone compares them on is the one number our data will not let us rank.

Klipsch RP-600M IIMFR-VERIFIED
Klipsch
$700 /pair
Pair price as tracked
Full specs & where to buy →
Polk Audio
$799 /pair
Pair price as tracked
Full specs & where to buy →

Specifications · side by side · per-field provenance

● SOURCE-TRACKED
SpecKlipsch RP-600M IIPolk Audio Reserve R200
Price$700 /pair$799 /pair
BrandKlipschPolk Audio
Speaker Typebookshelf standmountbookshelf standmount
Way Config2-way2-way
Woofer Count11
Woofer Size Inches6.56.5
Tweeter Typehorn compressionnot stated
Tweeter Size Inches11
Impedance Nominal Ohms8not stated
Sensitivity DB 1w1m94.586
Sensitivity Measurement Contextunstatedunstated
Freq Response Low HZ4451
Freq Response High HZ2500038000
Freq Response Toleranceplus minus 3dBunstated
Peak Power Handling W400not stated
Crossover Frequency HZ1500not stated
Enclosure Typebass reflex portedbass reflex ported
Port Locationrearnot stated
Binding Postsbi-wirebi-wire
Grille IncludedYesnot stated
Height Inches15.814.1
Width Inches87.5
Depth Inches1313.9
Weight Lbs18.119.1
Sold Aspairpair
Finish OptionsEbony, WalnutMidnight Black, Satin White, Chestnut Brown
Impedance Minimum Ohmsnot stated3.8
Recommended Power Min Wnot stated30
Recommended Power Max Wnot stated200
Shaded rows differ · green dot = lab-measured · amber = manufacturer-verified · blue = retailer/community-reported · grey = estimated · “not stated” means exactly that

Reading the numbers honestly

The sensitivity figures are 94.5 dB (Klipsch) and 86 dB (Polk), and BOTH rows record their measurement context as UNSTATED. An 8.5 dB gap between two unlabelled yardsticks is not an 8.5 dB gap — a half-space or in-room figure reads several dB above the same driver measured anechoically, and neither sheet tells us which convention it used — so this page reports the pair and ranks nothing on it. The Klipsch specification does carry a footnote about half-space anechoic measurement with a 2.83V input, and our row stores 'unstated' because half-space has no enum value in our schema rather than because no source states one; that is a gap in our vocabulary, honestly recorded. Impedance is the next trap: the Klipsch states an 8Ω NOMINAL and the Polk a 3.8Ω MINIMUM, which are different fields answering different questions — the minimum is the one a receiver's rating is actually checked against, and the builder's compatibility check uses it. Bass extension is only half-qualified: 44 Hz at a stated ±3 dB on the Klipsch against 51 Hz whose tolerance our Polk row records as unstated. Power is stated as two different quantities — 400W peak power handling against a 30–200W recommended amplifier range — so those numbers answer different questions too. What matches: 2-way, one 6.5-inch woofer, a 1-inch tweeter, a bass-reflex ported cabinet, bi-wire binding posts and pair pricing on both rows. Only the Klipsch row states a crossover point (1,500 Hz), a tweeter type (horn compression) and a port location (rear).

Compatibility · computed, not written

Checked against a popular budget receiver, the Denon AVR-X1800H (80W per channel into 8Ω): Denon AVR-X1800H

Will the Klipsch RP-600M II work with a receiver like the Denon AVR-X1800H?

Klipsch RP-600M II states 8Ω nominal with no published minimum — inside the Denon AVR-X1800H's stated 4Ω-minimum rating.

Will the Polk Audio Reserve R200 work with a receiver like the Denon AVR-X1800H?

Polk Audio Reserve R200 dips to a stated 3.8Ω minimum — below the Denon AVR-X1800H's stated 4Ω-minimum rating, so this pairing sits outside the receiver's published spec.

Computed from the catalog's normalized fields — the same fields the builder's compatibility engine reads. A missing field reads as "can't check", never as a pass.

The verdict

Neither sheet supports the comparison this pair is usually made on. Both sensitivity figures — 94.5 dB and 86 dB — carry an UNSTATED measurement context in our data, so the 8.5 dB that looks decisive sits between two unlabelled yardsticks and we rank nothing on it. Buy the Klipsch RP-600M II if a stated 1,500 Hz crossover point, a stated horn-compression tweeter and a 44 Hz bass figure qualified at ±3 dB are what you want on the sheet. Buy the Polk Audio Reserve R200 if a stated 3.8Ω minimum impedance — the field a receiver match is actually checked against — and a third finish option matter more, and read the price row above either way, where the Klipsch tracks $99/pair under the Polk today.

SensitivityEitherNot comparable, so not ranked: 94.5 dB and 86 dB both carry an unstated measurement context in our data, and two unstated figures from different brands are not one yardstick.
A bass claim you can checkKlipsch RP-600M II44 Hz at a stated ±3 dB on the Klipsch, against 51 Hz whose tolerance our Polk row records as unstated — one of the two claims is qualified.
Matching a receiverPolk Audio Reserve R200The Polk states a 3.8Ω minimum impedance, which is the figure a receiver's rating is checked against and the one our builder's compatibility check reads; the Klipsch states an 8Ω nominal, a different field.
Power handlingEitherTwo different quantities rather than two values: 400W peak power handling on the Klipsch against a 30–200W recommended amplifier range on the Polk.
Crossover and driver detailKlipsch RP-600M IIA stated 1,500 Hz crossover point, a horn-compression tweeter type and a rear port location; our Polk row records none of the three.
Matching it to the roomPolk Audio Reserve R200Midnight Black, Satin White and Chestnut Brown against Ebony and Walnut — three stated finishes against two.

Where to buy

CHEAPEST FIRST · NOT COMMISSION-RANKED
Klipsch RP-600M II
Tracked at B&H Photo · price not quotable from a search page
CHECKED 8 WEEKS AGO
Find at B&H Photo
Polk Audio Reserve R200
Tracked at Audio Advice · price not quotable from a search page
CHECKED 8 WEEKS AGO
Find at Audio Advice
We may earn a commission at no cost to you; it never affects rankings or compatibility verdicts — those come from the data.

Still deciding?

Klipsch RP-600M II vs KEF LS50 MetaKlipsch RP-600M II vs SVS Prime Bookshelf
Or start from your room instead: take the 60-second interview →

What our normalized data adds

NOT ON THE SPEC SHEETS
  • The comparison this pair is usually made on cannot be made from our data: BOTH sensitivity figures — 94.5 dB and 86 dB — carry an UNSTATED measurement context, so the 8.5 dB that looks decisive sits between two unlabelled yardsticks and nothing on this page rests on it.
  • Only one bass claim is qualified: 44 Hz at a stated ±3 dB on the Klipsch against 51 Hz whose tolerance our Polk row records as unstated.
  • The impedance fields are different in kind, which no spec table puts side by side: an 8Ω NOMINAL figure on the Klipsch against a 3.8Ω MINIMUM on the Polk — and the minimum is the one a receiver rating is checked against.
  • Power is stated as two different quantities: 400W peak power handling against a 30–200W recommended amplifier range, so the two numbers answer different questions.
  • The cabinets are close and the geometry inverts: 15.8 × 8 × 13 inches and 18.1 lb against 14.1 × 7.5 × 13.9 inches and 19.1 lb — the taller speaker is the lighter one.
  • Provenance honesty on the pricing unit: both rows price per pair, but the Klipsch's 'sold as pair' entry is retailer-sourced where the Polk's is manufacturer-stated — $700/pair vs $799/pair as tracked today.
Not the exact matchup you wanted?
Swap either product, or add a third, in the compare tool. Or read the guide: Speaker sensitivity and impedance, explained.
Add a third speaker to this comparison →Browse Speakers

More Speakers comparisons

Klipsch RP-600M II vs KEF LS50 MetaSVS Prime Bookshelf vs Klipsch RP-600M IIPolk Audio Signature Elite ES20 vs ELAC Debut 2.0 DB62KEF R3 Meta vs KEF LS50 Meta