Projectors · Head to head

XGIMI Horizon S Max vs JMGO N1S Ultimate

Same ISO yardstick, same 1.2 throw — which should you buy?
Try both in a build →XGIMI Horizon S Max in the slot, JMGO N1S Ultimate one swap away.

The short answer

Choose on sources and setup, not output — the two brightness figures are stated to the same ISO standard and sit about 6% apart (3,300 against 3,100). Pick the XGIMI Horizon S Max if you watch Dolby Vision or IMAX Enhanced content: our row states both, plus a 20,000-hour light-source life, where our JMGO row lists HDR10 only and no life figure. Pick the JMGO N1S Ultimate if you need two HDMI inputs — it states two HDMI 2.1 ports against the XGIMI's single input — or an image larger than 200 inches, with a stated 300-inch ceiling. The JMGO tracks $130 lower today.

Build around XGIMI Horizon S MaxBuild around JMGO N1S Ultimate
As tracked by Home Theater Builder: the XGIMI Horizon S Max tracks at $1,429; the JMGO N1S Ultimate at $1,299. How we verify this data →

Two compact 4K projectors from XGIMI and JMGO ($1,429 vs $1,299 as tracked today). Unusually for this category, both brightness figures are stated to the same ISO standard, so they can be read side by side — and they sit about 6% apart.

XGIMI
$1,429
As tracked in our catalog
Full specs & where to buy →
JMGO N1S UltimateMFR-VERIFIED
JMGO
$1,299
As tracked in our catalog
Full specs & where to buy →

Specifications · side by side · per-field provenance

● SOURCE-TRACKED
SpecXGIMI Horizon S MaxJMGO N1S Ultimate
Price$1,429$1,299
BrandXGIMIJMGO
TechnologyDLP 1chipLaser DLP
Native resolution4K UHD4K UHD
Brightness (ANSI lumens)31003300
Contrast ratio, dynamic1000000:11600:1
HDR supportHDR10, HLG, Dolby Vision, IMAX EnhancedHDR10
Light source typehybrid laser LEDtriple laser
Lamp life, normal (hours)20000not stated
Throw ratio, min1.21.2
Throw typestandardstandard
Image size, min (in)4040
Image size, max (in)200300
Native aspect ratio16:9not stated
Frame interpolationYesnot stated
Vertical keystoneYesnot stated
HDMI inputs12
Wi-FiYesYes
BluetoothYesYes
Orientations supportedtable front, table rear, ceiling front, ceiling reartable front, table rear, ceiling front, ceiling rear
Width (in)10.7not stated
Height (in)9.2not stated
Depth (in)6.9not stated
Weight (lbs)10.62.2
HDMI versionnot stated2.1
HDMI 2.1 portsnot stated2
Power consumption (W)not stated240
Shaded rows differ · green dot = lab-measured · amber = manufacturer-verified · blue = retailer/community-reported · grey = estimated · “not stated” means exactly that

Reading the numbers honestly

Both lumen figures carry the same context — ISO lumens on both manufacturer sheets, 3,100 on the XGIMI and 3,300 on the JMGO — so unlike most projector pairs these two can be compared directly: about 6% apart, well inside what a room's screen and ambient light change. The light engines are described differently: XGIMI calls its source 'Dual Light 2.0', which our row records as a hybrid laser-LED engine, while JMGO states a tri-color RGB laser. The contrast figures are NOT comparable: the XGIMI's 1,000,000:1 is labelled dynamic on its sheet, and the JMGO's 1,600:1 is printed with no native-or-dynamic label — two different kinds of number, so neither is ranked. Both rows record a single 1.2:1 throw ratio and no range for either, so for a 100-inch 16:9 image both sit about 8.7 ft from the screen.

The verdict

Choose on sources and setup, not output — the two brightness figures are stated to the same ISO standard and sit about 6% apart (3,300 against 3,100). Pick the XGIMI Horizon S Max if you watch Dolby Vision or IMAX Enhanced content: our row states both, plus a 20,000-hour light-source life, where our JMGO row lists HDR10 only and no life figure. Pick the JMGO N1S Ultimate if you need two HDMI inputs — it states two HDMI 2.1 ports against the XGIMI's single input — or an image larger than 200 inches, with a stated 300-inch ceiling. The JMGO tracks $130 lower today.

Dolby Vision and IMAX EnhancedXGIMI Horizon S Max — Our XGIMI row states HDR10, HLG, Dolby Vision and IMAX Enhanced; our JMGO row lists HDR10 only — possibly our coverage gap, so confirm on JMGO's page if Dolby Vision matters.
Two HDMI sourcesJMGO N1S Ultimate — Two stated HDMI 2.1 inputs, one with eARC, against a single HDMI input with eARC on the XGIMI (no HDMI version on file for it).
The bigger pictureJMGO N1S Ultimate — A stated 40–300-inch image range against 40–200 inches.
Raw outputEither — 3,300 against 3,100 ISO lumens — the same standard on both sheets, about 6% apart.
Light-source lifeXGIMI Horizon S Max — 20,000 hours stated on the XGIMI; our JMGO row has no light-source life on file.
PlacementEither — Both state a 1.2:1 throw ratio — about 8.7 ft for a 100-inch image — with no throw range on file for either.

Where to buy

CHEAPEST FIRST · NOT COMMISSION-RANKED
XGIMI Horizon S Max
$1,429
Cheapest tracked offer · us.xgimi.com
CHECKED TODAY
Buy at us.xgimi.com ↗
JMGO N1S Ultimate
$1,299
Cheapest tracked offer · global.jmgo.com
CHECKED TODAY
Buy at global.jmgo.com ↗
We may earn a commission at no cost to you; it never affects rankings or compatibility verdicts — those come from the data.
Or start from your room instead: take the 60-second interview →

What our normalized data adds

NOT ON THE SPEC SHEETS
  • A like-for-like brightness reading, rare in this category: 3,100 ISO lumens (XGIMI) against 3,300 ISO lumens (JMGO), both labelled ISO on the manufacturer's own sheet — about 6% apart, the same yardstick on both sides.
  • The contrast figures are two kinds of number and are not ranked: 1,000,000:1 labelled dynamic (XGIMI) against 1,600:1 printed with no native-or-dynamic label (JMGO).
  • HDR coverage on our rows: HDR10, HLG, Dolby Vision and IMAX Enhanced on the XGIMI against HDR10 only on the JMGO — flagged as a possible coverage gap on our JMGO row, not a stated absence.
  • HDMI: two stated HDMI 2.1 inputs, one with eARC (JMGO), against one HDMI input with eARC and no HDMI version on file (XGIMI).
  • Both state a single 1.2:1 throw ratio, so for a 100-inch 16:9 image both sit about 8.7 ft back; the stated image ranges differ — 40–300 inches (JMGO) against 40–200 inches (XGIMI), at $1,429 vs $1,299 as tracked today.
Not the exact matchup you wanted?
Swap either product, or add a third, in the compare tool. Or read the guide: The best 4K projectors for a bright living room.
Add a third projector to this comparison →Browse Projectors

More Projectors comparisons

Hisense PX3-PRO vs Epson EpiqVision Ultra LS800Epson Home Cinema LS11000 vs Epson Home Cinema 5050UBSony VPL-XW5000ES vs Epson Pro Cinema LS12000Hisense PX3-PRO vs BenQ V5010i