Upgrading from the 5050UB — is the laser successor the answer?
Try both in a build →Epson Home Cinema LS11000 in the slot, Epson Home Cinema 5050UB one tap away.
The short answer
If you own a working 5050UB, the stated differences — a 20,000-hour laser versus lamp replacements, on the same ±96.3% lens-shift chassis — are the whole upgrade case; our data records no brightness or lag figures for the 5050UB to argue otherwise. If you're buying fresh at the LS11000's tracked $4,500, it's the one with a published, current spec sheet — and we flag that our 5050UB row is too thin to score a head-to-head fairly.
As tracked by Home Theater Builder: the Epson Home Cinema LS11000 tracks at $4,500; the Epson Home Cinema 5050UB at $3,800.How we verify this data →
The 5050UB is the projector enthusiasts already own; the LS11000 is Epson's laser evolution of the same 3LCD recipe. This page is honest about a limitation: our data on the 5050UB is thinner than usual, including its price.
Specifications · side by side · per-field provenance
● SOURCE-TRACKED
Spec
Epson Home Cinema LS11000
Epson Home Cinema 5050UB
Price
$4,500
$3,800
Brand
Epson
Epson
Technology
LCD 3LCD
LCD 3LCD
Native Resolution
4K pixel shift
4K pixel shift
Brightness Lumens
2500
not stated
Contrast Ratio Native
Up to and over 1,200,000:1, Auto Iris on
Up to 1,000,000:1, Auto Iris on
HDR Support
HDR10, HDR10+, HLG
HDR10, HLG
Light Source Type
single laser
lamp UHP
Lamp Life Normal Hrs
20000
not stated
Throw Ratio Min
1.35
1.35
Throw Ratio Max
2.84
2.84
Throw Type
standard
standard
Optical Zoom Range
1 – 2.1
1 – 2.1
Lens Shift Vertical Pct
-96.3% to +96.3%
-96.3% to +96.3%
Lens Shift Horizontal Pct
-47.1% to +47.1%
-47.1% to +47.1%
Powered Lens Shift
Yes
Yes
Powered Zoom
Yes
Yes
Native Aspect Ratio
16:9
16:9
Frame Interpolation
Yes
Yes
Keystone Vertical
Yes
Yes
HDMI Inputs
2
2
HDMI Version
2.1
not stated
HDMI 21 Ports
2
not stated
HDMI Max Bandwidth Gbps
40
18
Rs232 Port
Yes
Yes
Trigger 12v
Yes
Yes
Orientations Supported
Front, Front-Ceiling, Rear, Rear-Ceiling
Front, rear, ceiling mount
Width Inches
20.5
20.5
Height Inches
7.6
7.6
Depth Inches
17.6
17.7
Weight Lbs
28
24.7
Power Consumption W
311
373
Color Gamut DCI P3 Pct
not stated
100
Shaded rows differ · green dot = lab-measured · amber = manufacturer-verified · blue = retailer/community-reported · grey = estimated · “not stated” means exactly that
Reading the numbers honestly
What the data does state: both are 3LCD designs with IDENTICAL published lens-shift ranges (±96.3% vertical) — the same optical-chassis lineage, and placement flexibility almost nothing else matches. The light sources genuinely differ: the LS11000's laser is rated at 20,000 hours; the 5050UB uses a UHP lamp whose life is UNSTATED in our data. What the data does NOT state, and we won't invent: the 5050UB's brightness is unrecorded (the LS11000 states 2,500 lumens), and the 5050UB has NO tracked price — it renders as 'price unknown' here, not as a guess.
The verdict
If you own a working 5050UB, the stated differences — a 20,000-hour laser versus lamp replacements, on the same ±96.3% lens-shift chassis — are the whole upgrade case; our data records no brightness or lag figures for the 5050UB to argue otherwise. If you're buying fresh at the LS11000's tracked $4,500, it's the one with a published, current spec sheet — and we flag that our 5050UB row is too thin to score a head-to-head fairly.
Current 5050UB ownersEither — The laser lifecycle is the only stated upgrade; whether it's worth the LS11000's tracked price ($4,500 today) depends on your lamp-replacement tolerance, not on a spec our data can point to.
Buying new todayEpson Home Cinema LS11000 — A stated 2,500-lumen laser spec and a tracked price beat an unpriced, thinly-documented predecessor.
Where to buy
CHEAPEST FIRST · NOT COMMISSION-RANKED
Epson Home Cinema LS11000
Tracked at Best Buy · price not quotable from a search page
Identical stated ±96.3% vertical lens shift on both — same optical-chassis lineage, and the concrete reason 5050UB owners consider only this upgrade path.
Light-source lifecycle from stated fields: a 20,000-hour-rated laser vs a UHP lamp whose life is UNSTATED in our data — we compare the stated halves and flag the unstated one.
Brightness honesty: the LS11000 states 2,500 lumens; the 5050UB's brightness is UNRECORDED in our normalized data — no invented number, the gap is the finding.
Price honesty: the 5050UB has NO tracked price and renders as 'price unknown'; the LS11000 does ($4,500 as tracked today).
Not the exact matchup you wanted?
Swap either product, or add a third, in the compare tool.