An LCoS imager against a pixel-shifting 3LCD — which should you buy?
Try both in a build →Epson Pro Cinema LS12000 in the slot, Sony VPL-XW5000ES one swap away.
The short answer
Buy the Epson Pro Cinema LS12000 — on the fields both rows state it brings more of what you can check: 2,700 claimed lumens against 2,000, a stated HDMI 2.1 board with two 2.1 ports and a 40 Gbps figure against a recorded 18 Gbps, powered lens shift and zoom against manual, ±96.3% vertical and ±47.1% horizontal shift against ±71% and ±25%, a stated HDR10 / HDR10+ / HLG list with tone mapping where our Sony row records no HDR field, and 22 dB of stated noise against 24 dB. Buy the Sony VPL-XW5000ES if you have confirmed its imaging mechanism on Sony's own page and that is the reason you are buying: our Epson row states its resolution as 4K pixel shift, while our Sony row carries the generic 4K UHD output class beside an LCoS SXRD imager and records no pixel-shift value either way. That is a disclosure gap on our row, not a proven difference — nothing we store settles the mechanism in the Sony's favour.
As tracked by Home Theater Builder: the Sony VPL-XW5000ES tracks at $5,998; the Epson Pro Cinema LS12000 at $6,000.How we verify this data →
Two single-laser home-theater projectors at the same rung, and today's tracked prices are close enough to set aside. Only one of the two rows states HOW it gets to 4K — and on nearly every other stated field, that same row says more.
Specifications · side by side · per-field provenance
● SOURCE-TRACKED
Spec
Sony VPL-XW5000ES
Epson Pro Cinema LS12000
Price
$5,998
$6,000
Brand
Sony
Epson
Technology
LCoS SXRD
LCD 3LCD
Native resolution
4K UHD
4K pixel shift
Brightness (ANSI lumens)
2000
2700
Contrast ratio, dynamic
∞:1 (Dynamic Contrast)
not stated
Light source type
single laser
single laser
Lamp life, normal (hours)
20000
20000
Throw ratio, min
1.38
1.35
Throw ratio, max
2.21
2.84
Throw type
standard
standard
Optical zoom range
Approx. x1.60
1 – 2.1
Lens shift, vertical (%)
+/- 71%
-96.3% to +96.3%
Lens shift, horizontal (%)
+/- 25%
-47.1% to +47.1%
Powered lens shift
No
Yes
Powered zoom
No
Yes
HDMI inputs
2
2
HDMI max bandwidth (Gbps)
18
40
RS-232 port
Yes
Yes
12 V trigger
Yes
Yes
Width (in)
18.1
20.5
Height (in)
7.9
7.6
Depth (in)
18.6
17.6
Weight (lbs)
28
28
Fan noise, normal (dB)
24
22
Power consumption (W)
295
311
Contrast ratio, native
not stated
Up to and over 2,500,000:1
HDR support
not stated
HDR10, HDR10+, HLG
HDR tone mapping
not stated
Yes
Native aspect ratio
not stated
16:9
Frame interpolation
not stated
Yes
Vertical keystone
not stated
Yes
HDMI version
not stated
2.1
HDMI 2.1 ports
not stated
2
Orientations supported
not stated
Front, Front-Ceiling, Rear, Rear-Ceiling
Shaded rows differ · green dot = lab-measured · amber = manufacturer-verified · blue = retailer/community-reported · grey = estimated · “not stated” means exactly that
Reading the numbers honestly
Three honesty flags before the list. First, both HDMI bandwidth figures in our data are retailer-sourced rather than manufacturer-stated — 40 Gbps for the Epson, 18 Gbps for the Sony — and that is the number a 4K/120 console depends on, so confirm it on the manufacturer's page before you buy. Second, the contrast figures are recorded in different fields and cannot be compared: our Sony row states a DYNAMIC ratio (∞:1) while our Epson row states a native figure written as 'up to and over 2,500,000:1', which is itself an open-ended claim — two numbers, two definitions, no comparison. Third — and this is the one the category name promises and our data cannot deliver — NEITHER resolution field records a panel pixel count. Our Epson row spells its resolution out as 4K pixel shift beside an LCD 3LCD imager; our Sony row carries the generic 4K UHD output class beside an LCoS SXRD imager, and that same 4K UHD value sits on a pixel-shifting DLP elsewhere in this catalog. So the imaging mechanism is documented on one row and undocumented on the other; if it is the reason you are buying, confirm it on Sony's own page rather than on ours. Brightness is a picture-mode claim on both sides (2,000 against 2,700 lumens) — projector brightness is always quoted from the most flattering mode — and the two are not equally sourced: our Epson row records its 2,700 from a retailer listing, and our Sony row records no source at all for its 2,000. What IS directly comparable: throw ratios of 1.38–2.21 against 1.35–2.84, stated lens shift of ±71% vertical and ±25% horizontal against ±96.3% and ±47.1%, powered lens shift and zoom stated as No on the Sony and Yes on the Epson, stated noise of 24 dB against 22 dB, and a 20,000-hour laser life on both rows — manufacturer-stated on the Epson, with no recorded provenance on the Sony. Our Sony row also records no HDR-support field at all, where the Epson states HDR10, HDR10+ and HLG with tone mapping — our coverage gap, flagged rather than scored.
The verdict
Buy the Epson Pro Cinema LS12000 — on the fields both rows state it brings more of what you can check: 2,700 claimed lumens against 2,000, a stated HDMI 2.1 board with two 2.1 ports and a 40 Gbps figure against a recorded 18 Gbps, powered lens shift and zoom against manual, ±96.3% vertical and ±47.1% horizontal shift against ±71% and ±25%, a stated HDR10 / HDR10+ / HLG list with tone mapping where our Sony row records no HDR field, and 22 dB of stated noise against 24 dB. Buy the Sony VPL-XW5000ES if you have confirmed its imaging mechanism on Sony's own page and that is the reason you are buying: our Epson row states its resolution as 4K pixel shift, while our Sony row carries the generic 4K UHD output class beside an LCoS SXRD imager and records no pixel-shift value either way. That is a disclosure gap on our row, not a proven difference — nothing we store settles the mechanism in the Sony's favour.
How each row states its resolutionEither — Our Epson row states 4K pixel shift beside an LCD 3LCD imager; our Sony row states the generic 4K UHD class beside an LCoS SXRD imager. No field on either row records a panel pixel count, and a pixel-shifting DLP in this catalog carries that same 4K UHD value — so the Sony's mechanism is undocumented in our data, not established by it.
Bright-room outputEpson Pro Cinema LS12000 — 2,700 claimed lumens against 2,000 — both picture-mode claims, and unequally sourced: the Epson's is recorded from a retailer listing and our Sony row records no source for its 2,000.
4K/120 and HDMI headroomEpson Pro Cinema LS12000 — A stated HDMI 2.1 board with two 2.1 ports and a 40 Gbps figure against a recorded 18 Gbps — both bandwidth figures are retailer-sourced, so confirm before you buy.
Installation flexibilityEpson Pro Cinema LS12000 — Powered lens shift and zoom with ±96.3% vertical and ±47.1% horizontal range, against manual adjustment at ±71% and ±25%.
HDR on paperEpson Pro Cinema LS12000 — A stated HDR10, HDR10+ and HLG list with tone mapping; our Sony row records no HDR-support field at all, which is our coverage gap rather than a stated no.
Quiet runningEpson Pro Cinema LS12000 — 22 dB against 24 dB, both stated in normal mode, in cabinets that weigh the same 28 lb.
Light-source lifeEither — Both rows record a single laser rated at 20,000 hours — manufacturer-stated on the Epson, with no recorded provenance on the Sony.
Where to buy
CHEAPEST FIRST · NOT COMMISSION-RANKED
Sony VPL-XW5000ES
Tracked at Best Buy · price not quotable from a search page
Both HDMI bandwidth figures in our data are RETAILER-sourced rather than manufacturer-stated — 40 Gbps (Epson) against 18 Gbps (Sony) — and that is the single figure a 4K/120 console depends on, so we flag its provenance instead of ranking on it silently.
The contrast numbers are not comparable and are not ranked: our Sony row states a DYNAMIC ratio (∞:1) while our Epson row states a native figure written as 'up to and over 2,500,000:1', an open-ended claim in a field meant for a measured one.
NEITHER row records a panel pixel count, so the question the category name asks is the one our data cannot answer: our Epson row states 4K pixel shift beside an LCD 3LCD imager, our Sony row the generic 4K UHD output class beside an LCoS SXRD imager — the same 4K UHD value a pixel-shifting DLP in this catalog carries. We report that disclosure gap instead of reading a native panel into two fields that each state something else.
Stated lens placement differs by a wide margin: ±96.3% vertical and ±47.1% horizontal with powered shift and zoom on the Epson, against ±71% and ±25% with powered shift and powered zoom both stated as No on the Sony.
Our Sony row records no HDR-support field at all where the Epson states HDR10, HDR10+, HLG and tone mapping — flagged as OUR coverage gap, never presented as the product's shortcoming.
Both rows record a single laser rated at 20,000 hours and a 28 lb chassis — the Epson's lamp-life figure is manufacturer-stated where the Sony's carries no provenance in our data; stated noise is 24 dB (Sony) against 22 dB (Epson), at $5,998 vs $6,000 as tracked today.