Buy the BenQ W2720i — it states more of what a living-room setup depends on: a 17.9 ms 4K60 input lag, three external HDMI 2.1 inputs (ALLM stated on two) plus an internal 2.0b port for its streaming dongle, HDR10+ beside HDR10 and HLG, 90% of DCI-P3 and 28 dB of stated noise against 36 dB — and it states a lumen figure (2,500 ANSI) where our Epson row has none. Buy the Epson Home Cinema 2350 if the projector has to sit at the back of the room or off-centre: its 1.32–2.15 throw range starts where the BenQ's 1.0–1.3 ends, and it states ±60% vertical lens shift against ±5%, at $699 less as tracked today.
As tracked by Home Theater Builder: the Epson Home Cinema 2350 tracks at $1,100; the BenQ W2720i at $1,799.How we verify this data →
Two living-room 4K projectors with streaming built in ($1,100 vs $1,799 as tracked today). The first question is not picture: their stated throw ranges do not overlap, so the room decides before the spec sheet does.
Specifications · side by side · per-field provenance
● SOURCE-TRACKED
Spec
Epson Home Cinema 2350
BenQ W2720i
Price
$1,100
$1,799
Brand
Epson
BenQ
Technology
LCD 3LCD
LED DLP
Native resolution
4K pixel shift
4K UHD
HDR support
HDR10, HLG
HDR10, HDR10+, HLG
Light source type
lamp UHP
LED
Lamp life, normal (hours)
4500
20000
Throw ratio, min
1.32
1
Throw ratio, max
2.15
1.3
Throw type
standard
standard
Optical zoom range
1 – 1.62
1.3x
Lens shift, vertical (%)
±60%
±5%
Powered zoom
No
not stated
Native aspect ratio
16:9
16:9
Vertical keystone
Yes
Yes
Input lag @ 4K/60 (ms)
20
17.9
HDMI inputs
2
4
HDMI max bandwidth (Gbps)
18
not stated
Wi-Fi
Yes
not stated
Bluetooth
Yes
not stated
Orientations supported
front, rear, ceiling
not stated
Width (in)
13.1
16.5
Height (in)
4.8
5.6
Depth (in)
10.9
12
Weight (lbs)
9
14.1
Fan noise, normal (dB)
36
28
Power consumption (W)
316
183
Brightness (ANSI lumens)
not stated
2500
Contrast ratio, dynamic
not stated
2,000,000:1
DCI-P3 coverage (%)
not stated
90
HDMI version
not stated
2.1
HDMI 2.1 ports
not stated
3
ALLM
not stated
Yes
RS-232 port
not stated
Yes
12 V trigger
not stated
Yes
Shaded rows differ · green dot = lab-measured · amber = manufacturer-verified · blue = retailer/community-reported · grey = estimated · “not stated” means exactly that
Reading the numbers honestly
Brightness cannot be compared on this page, and we say so rather than guess: our BenQ row records 2,500 lumens from a manufacturer sheet that labels them ANSI, while our Epson row records no lumen figure at all — a gap in our data, not a stated zero — so neither projector is ranked on output. Input lag is stated on both rows in different forms: the BenQ states 17.9 ms at 4K60 as a point figure, the Epson states 'under 20 ms' as an upper bound. The resolution fields name different things: the Epson row states 4K pixel shift (its sheet reads 1920 x 1080 x 2), the BenQ row states 4K UHD at 3840 × 2160. The directly comparable figures are the throw ratios — 1.32–2.15 on the Epson against 1.0–1.3 on the BenQ, both manufacturer-stated. For a 100-inch 16:9 image that works out to roughly 9.6–15.6 ft from the Epson and 7.3–9.4 ft from the BenQ (throw ratio × image width).
The verdict
Buy the BenQ W2720i — it states more of what a living-room setup depends on: a 17.9 ms 4K60 input lag, three external HDMI 2.1 inputs (ALLM stated on two) plus an internal 2.0b port for its streaming dongle, HDR10+ beside HDR10 and HLG, 90% of DCI-P3 and 28 dB of stated noise against 36 dB — and it states a lumen figure (2,500 ANSI) where our Epson row has none. Buy the Epson Home Cinema 2350 if the projector has to sit at the back of the room or off-centre: its 1.32–2.15 throw range starts where the BenQ's 1.0–1.3 ends, and it states ±60% vertical lens shift against ±5%, at $699 less as tracked today.
Shelf at the back of the roomEpson Home Cinema 2350 — A 1.32–2.15 throw ratio (about 9.6–15.6 ft for a 100-inch image) against 1.0–1.3 (about 7.3–9.4 ft) — the two stated ranges do not overlap.
Off-centre placementEpson Home Cinema 2350 — ±60% stated vertical lens shift against ±5% on the BenQ.
GamingBenQ W2720i — A stated 17.9 ms at 4K60 and three HDMI 2.1 inputs, ALLM stated on two; the Epson states under 20 ms as an upper bound, while the Epson sheet states no HDMI version (a third-party review lists its two inputs as HDMI 2.0b).
BrightnessEither — 2,500 lumens labelled ANSI on BenQ's own sheet; our Epson row has no lumen figure on file, so the two are not ranked on output.
Quiet runningBenQ W2720i — 28 dB against 36 dB, both manufacturer-stated (BenQ in its typical mode; the Epson sheet names no mode).
Light-source lifeBenQ W2720i — A 20,000-hour LED in normal mode against a 4,500-hour UHE lamp, both manufacturer-stated.
Where to buy
CHEAPEST FIRST · NOT COMMISSION-RANKED
Epson Home Cinema 2350
Tracked at Epson.com · price not quotable from a search page
The two stated throw ranges do not overlap: 1.32–2.15 (Epson) against 1.0–1.3 (BenQ), both manufacturer-stated — for a 100-inch 16:9 image that is roughly 9.6–15.6 ft against 7.3–9.4 ft, so the room's depth picks the projector before any picture spec does.
Brightness is reported, not ranked: our BenQ row records 2,500 lumens that BenQ's sheet labels ANSI, and our Epson row records no lumen figure at all — our data's silence, never a stated zero.
Input lag is stated in two forms: 17.9 ms at 4K60 as a point figure (BenQ) against 'under 20 ms' as an upper bound (Epson).
Different light sources with stated lives: a 200 W UHE lamp rated 4,500 hours in normal mode (Epson) against a 4LED engine rated 20,000 hours (BenQ).
HDMI, counted the same way on both sides: three external HDMI 2.1 inputs plus an internal 2.0b port for the streaming dongle, ALLM stated on two (BenQ), against two HDMI inputs on the Epson (no version on its sheet), one used by its included Android TV dongle.
The resolution fields name different things: 4K pixel shift on the Epson (its sheet reads 1920 x 1080 x 2) against 4K UHD at 3840 × 2160 on the BenQ, at $1,100 vs $1,799 as tracked today.