Buy the Denon AVR-X1800H if you are driving 4Ω speakers or planning height channels later: it states a 4–16Ω impedance range against the Sony's 6–16Ω, and nine processing channels where our AN1000 row has no processing-channel figure at all. Buy the Sony STR-AN1000 for a second HDMI output, a stated HDMI 2.1 board with four 2.1 ports, a third zone and IMAX Enhanced, none of which our Denon row matches — it states one HDMI output, no HDMI version and Zone 3 as an explicit No. What neither sheet settles is amplifier power: Sony's 165W is stated into 6Ω with ONE channel driven at 0.9% THD and Denon's 80W into 8Ω with two channels driven at 0.08%, three differences in method at once, so both figures are reported here and ranked nowhere — read them next to $948 and $849 in the price row above.
As tracked by Home Theater Builder: the Sony STR-AN1000 states 4 HDMI 2.1 ports; the Denon AVR-X1800H states 4.How we verify this data →
Sony's STR-AN1000 and Denon's AVR-X1800H are the two 7.2 receivers this cross-shop keeps landing on — $948 vs $849 in the price row above. One field on these sheets decides more than the watt figures do, and it is the impedance range.
Specifications · side by side · per-field provenance
● SOURCE-TRACKED
Spec
Sony STR-AN1000
Denon AVR-X1800H
Price
$948
$849
Brand
Sony
Denon
Channel Config
7.2
7.2
Main Channels
7
7
Sub Pre Outs
2
2
Zone 2 Capable
Yes
Yes
Zone 3 Capable
Yes
No
Watts Per Channel 6ohm
165
not stated
THD Percent
0.9
0.08
Power Measurement Channels Driven
one channel driven
two channels driven
Impedance Range
6ohms-16ohms
4 – 16 Ω/ohms
Impedance Min Ohms
6
4
Impedance Max Ohms
16
16
Dolby Atmos
Yes
Yes
Dts X
Yes
Yes
Imax Enhanced
Yes
not stated
Room Correction System
Sony DCAC IX
Audyssey MultEQ XT
Measurement Mic Included
Yes
Yes
HDMI Inputs
6
6
HDMI Outputs
2
1
HDMI Version
2.1
not stated
HDMI Max Bandwidth Gbps
40
40
HDMI 21 Port Count
4
4
HDMI Earc Port Count
1
1
Max Passthrough Resolution
8K 30
not stated
HDR Support
HDR10, Hybrid Log Gamma, Dolby Vision
HDR10, Dolby Vision, HLG, HDR10+, Dynamic HDR
VRR Passthrough
Yes
Yes
ALLM Support
Yes
Yes
Wifi
Yes
Yes
Bluetooth
Yes
Yes
Airplay2
Yes
Yes
Streaming Services
Spotify Connect
not stated
Form Factor
full size
not stated
Width Inches
16.9
17.1
Height Inches
6.1
6
Depth Inches
13
13.3
Weight Lbs
20.7
19
Power Consumption W
240
430
Processing Channels
not stated
9
Watts Per Channel 8ohm
not stated
80
Phono Input
not stated
Yes
Heos
not stated
Yes
Shaded rows differ · green dot = lab-measured · amber = manufacturer-verified · blue = retailer/community-reported · grey = estimated · “not stated” means exactly that
Reading the numbers honestly
The power ratings share no measurement axis at all. Sony states 165W into 6Ω with ONE channel driven at 0.9% THD; Denon states 80W into 8Ω with TWO channels driven at 0.08%. That is three differences in method at once — load, channels driven and distortion point — and our Sony row carries no 8Ω figure to bridge them, so the two stickers are reported on this page and ranked nowhere. What decides instead is the impedance range: 6–16Ω on the Sony against 4–16Ω on the Denon, which means a nominally 4Ω speaker sits outside the Sony's own stated rating and inside the Denon's. After that the rows trade. The Denon states nine processing channels where our AN1000 row records no processing-channel figure at all, and states a phono input the Sony row does not carry. The Sony states two HDMI outputs against one, HDMI version 2.1 with four 2.1 ports, Zone 3 as a Yes where the Denon states Zone 3 as an explicit No, and IMAX Enhanced. Room correction is Sony DCAC IX against Audyssey MultEQ XT with a microphone stated on both — two platforms, not two tiers.
Compatibility · computed, not written
Checked against a bookshelf that dips to a stated 3.5Ω like the KEF LS50 Meta: KEF LS50 Meta
Can the Sony STR-AN1000 drive the KEF LS50 Meta?
Sony STR-AN1000 states a 6Ω-minimum rating, and the KEF LS50 Meta dips to a stated 3.5Ω minimum — well below that floor. By its own published spec this receiver is not rated for a load like this.
Can the Denon AVR-X1800H drive the KEF LS50 Meta?
Denon AVR-X1800H states a 4Ω-minimum rating; the KEF LS50 Meta dips to a stated 3.5Ω minimum, a little below that floor. Most receivers handle a marginal dip at normal volumes — it's worth watching only at very high output on an entry-level unit.
Computed from the catalog's normalized fields — the same fields the builder's compatibility engine reads. A missing field reads as "can't check", never as a pass.
Gaming & connectivity · answered from the spec sheets
How many HDMI 2.1 ports do the Sony STR-AN1000 and Denon AVR-X1800H have?
Sony STR-AN1000 states 4 full-bandwidth HDMI 2.1 ports; Denon AVR-X1800H states 4. Full-bandwidth ports are the ones that carry 4K/120 and VRR — the count that matters for wiring multiple current-gen consoles.
Can the Sony STR-AN1000 and Denon AVR-X1800H pass 4K/120 through?
The Sony STR-AN1000 states 40 Gbps HDMI bandwidth — enough for full 4K/120; the Denon AVR-X1800H states 40 Gbps HDMI bandwidth — enough for full 4K/120.
The verdict
Buy the Denon AVR-X1800H if you are driving 4Ω speakers or planning height channels later: it states a 4–16Ω impedance range against the Sony's 6–16Ω, and nine processing channels where our AN1000 row has no processing-channel figure at all. Buy the Sony STR-AN1000 for a second HDMI output, a stated HDMI 2.1 board with four 2.1 ports, a third zone and IMAX Enhanced, none of which our Denon row matches — it states one HDMI output, no HDMI version and Zone 3 as an explicit No. What neither sheet settles is amplifier power: Sony's 165W is stated into 6Ω with ONE channel driven at 0.9% THD and Denon's 80W into 8Ω with two channels driven at 0.08%, three differences in method at once, so both figures are reported here and ranked nowhere — read them next to $948 and $849 in the price row above.
Comparable powerEither — Not comparable, so not ranked: 165W into 6Ω with one channel driven at 0.9% THD against 80W into 8Ω with two channels driven at 0.08% THD.
4Ω speakersDenon AVR-X1800H — The Denon states a 4–16Ω range; the Sony states 6–16Ω, so a nominally 4Ω speaker sits outside the Sony's own stated rating.
Adding heights with an external ampDenon AVR-X1800H — Nine stated processing channels on the Denon row; our AN1000 row records no processing-channel figure at all.
A projector and a TV togetherSony STR-AN1000 — Two stated HDMI outputs against one, on a board the Sony row describes as version 2.1 with four 2.1 ports.
A third zoneSony STR-AN1000 — The Sony states Zone 3; the Denon states Zone 3 as an explicit No — a stated no, not a silence in our data.
Turntable inDenon AVR-X1800H — A phono input is stated on the Denon row; our Sony row has no phono field at all, which is worth confirming rather than assuming either way.
Where to buy
CHEAPEST FIRST · NOT COMMISSION-RANKED
Sony STR-AN1000
Tracked at Crutchfield · price not quotable from a search page
The two power figures share no measurement axis: 165W into 6Ω with ONE channel driven at 0.9% THD against 80W into 8Ω with TWO channels driven at 0.08%, and our Sony row carries no 8Ω figure to bridge them — reported here, ranked nowhere.
The field that actually decides a speaker match: 6–16Ω on the Sony against 4–16Ω on the Denon, so a nominally 4Ω speaker sits outside the Sony's own stated rating.
Processing channels are stated on one row only — nine on the Denon, no figure at all on ours for the AN1000 — which is the difference for anyone adding heights on an external amplifier.
The Sony's HDMI board is the more fully described: version 2.1, four 2.1 ports and two outputs, against a Denon row that records four 2.1 ports and a 40 Gbps figure but no version and only one output.
Provenance honesty: both 40 Gbps HDMI figures here are retailer-sourced, and the Sony's 8K/30 passthrough entry carries no manufacturer sourcing either — three numbers to confirm before buying.
Three-state honesty runs both ways: the Denon states Zone 3 as an explicit No where the Sony states Zone 3 as a Yes, and the Denon states a phono input where our Sony row simply has no phono field, at $948 vs $849 in the price row above.