As tracked by Home Theater Builder: the Denon AVR-X1800H states 4 HDMI 2.1 ports; the Denon AVR-S760H states 3.How we verify this data →
The X1800H carries Audyssey MultEQ XT room correction to the S760H's base MultEQ, and the power figures (80W vs 75W, both 8Ω, two channels driven, 0.08% THD) are level. A same-brand ladder question. Either way, the spec differences are smaller than the tier names imply.
Specifications · side by side · per-field provenance
● SOURCE-TRACKED
Spec
Denon AVR-X1800H
Denon AVR-S760H
Price
$849
$699
Brand
Denon
Denon
Channel configuration
7.2
7.2
Main channels
7
7
Processing channels
9
7
Subwoofer pre-outs
2
2
Zone 2 capable
Yes
Yes
Zone 3 capable
No
not stated
Watts per channel (8 Ω)
80
75
THD (%)
0.08
0.08
Channels driven (power rating)
two channels driven
two channels driven
Impedance range
4 – 16 Ω/ohms
4-16Ω
Speaker impedance, min (Ω)
4
4
Speaker impedance, max (Ω)
16
16
Dolby Atmos
Yes
Yes
DTS:X
Yes
Yes
Room correction system
Audyssey MultEQ XT
Audyssey MultEQ
Measurement mic included
Yes
Yes
HDMI inputs
6
6
HDMI outputs
1
1
HDMI max bandwidth (Gbps)
40
40
HDMI 2.1 ports
4
3
HDMI eARC ports
1
1
HDR support
HDR10, Dolby Vision, HLG, HDR10+, Dynamic HDR
HDR10, HDR10+, Dolby Vision, HLG, Dynamic HDR
VRR passthrough
Yes
Yes
ALLM passthrough
Yes
Yes
Phono input
Yes
Yes
Wi-Fi
Yes
Yes
Bluetooth
Yes
Yes
AirPlay 2
Yes
Yes
HEOS
Yes
Yes
Width (in)
17.1
17.1
Height (in)
6
6
Depth (in)
13.3
13.3
Weight (lbs)
19
19
Power consumption (W)
430
400
Height channels
not stated
2
Watts per channel (6 Ω)
not stated
110
Auro-3D
not stated
No
HDMI version
not stated
2.1
Max passthrough resolution
not stated
8K 60
Alexa built-in
not stated
Yes
IP control
not stated
Yes
Streaming services
not stated
Spotify Connect, Pandora, Amazon Music HD, TuneIn, Deezer, Tidal Connect
Form factor
not stated
full size
Shaded rows differ · green dot = lab-measured · amber = manufacturer-verified · blue = retailer/community-reported · grey = estimated · “not stated” means exactly that
Reading the numbers honestly
This is the rare comparison where the power figures ARE like-for-like: 80W (X1800H) vs 75W (S760H), both measured at 8Ω, two channels driven, 0.08% THD — a difference you will never hear. The honest differences live elsewhere: the S760H explicitly states a 4–16Ω speaker-impedance rating where the X1800H publishes none, and the X1800H states 9 processing channels and Audyssey MultEQ XT where the S760H is a 7.2 design with base MultEQ.
Compatibility · computed, not written
Checked against a bookshelf that dips to a stated 3.7Ω like the KEF Q150: KEF Q150
Can the Denon AVR-X1800H drive the KEF Q150?
Denon AVR-X1800H states a 4Ω-minimum rating; the KEF Q150 dips to a stated 3.7Ω minimum, a little below that floor. Most receivers handle a marginal dip at normal volumes — it's worth watching only at very high output on an entry-level unit.
Can the Denon AVR-S760H drive the KEF Q150?
Denon AVR-S760H states a 4Ω-minimum rating; the KEF Q150 dips to a stated 3.7Ω minimum, a little below that floor. Most receivers handle a marginal dip at normal volumes — it's worth watching only at very high output on an entry-level unit.
Computed from the catalog's normalized fields — the same fields the builder's compatibility engine reads. A missing field reads as "can't check", never as a pass.
Gaming & connectivity · answered from the spec sheets
How many HDMI 2.1 ports do the Denon AVR-X1800H and Denon AVR-S760H have?
Denon AVR-X1800H states 4 full-bandwidth HDMI 2.1 ports; Denon AVR-S760H states 3. Full-bandwidth ports are the ones that carry 4K/120 and VRR — the count that matters for wiring multiple current-gen consoles.
Can the Denon AVR-X1800H and Denon AVR-S760H pass 4K/120 through?
The Denon AVR-X1800H states 40 Gbps HDMI bandwidth — enough for full 4K/120; the Denon AVR-S760H states 40 Gbps HDMI bandwidth — enough for full 4K/120.
The verdict
Buy the Denon AVR-X1800H — the higher-tier receiver brings 9 stated processing channels (unstated for the S760H) and the better room correction.
A genuinely like-for-like power comparison: 80W vs 75W, both at 8Ω / two channels driven / 0.08% THD — we can say so because the measurement context is stored with the value.
The S760H states a 4–16Ω impedance rating; the X1800H publishes NO impedance range in our data — the lower-tier unit is the one with the 4Ω-friendly paper trail.
The tier ladder's price order is a tracked figure, not a tier promise.
HDMI 2.1 is level once counted the same way: three HDMI 2.1 inputs and one HDMI output on each (our X1800H row's "4 ports" counts the output too); processing channels: 9 stated vs unstated.
Not the exact matchup you wanted?
Swap either product, or add a third, in the compare tool.