Buy the Denon AVR-S970H if the price gap on the day is modest — the XT room correction, stated 4 HDMI 2.1 ports, and second HDMI output are real stated upgrades. The S760H does the same core 7.2 Atmos job with the same 4–16Ω rating, so a big price gap changes the answer.
As tracked by Home Theater Builder: the Denon AVR-S760H tracks at $699; the Denon AVR-S970H at $799.How we verify this data →
Two rungs of the same S-series: both 7.2 Atmos receivers with two sub pre-outs and a stated 4–16Ω impedance rating. Unlike most ladder steps, this one's differences are all stated, not implied.
Specifications · side by side · per-field provenance
● SOURCE-TRACKED
Spec
Denon AVR-S760H
Denon AVR-S970H
Price
$699
$799
Brand
Denon
Denon
Channel configuration
7.2
7.2
Main channels
7
7
Processing channels
7
7
Subwoofer pre-outs
2
2
Height channels
2
not stated
Zone 2 capable
Yes
Yes
Watts per channel (8 Ω)
75
90
Watts per channel (6 Ω)
110
not stated
THD (%)
0.08
0.08
Channels driven (power rating)
two channels driven
two channels driven
Impedance range
4-16Ω
4 – 16 Ω/ohms
Speaker impedance, min (Ω)
4
4
Speaker impedance, max (Ω)
16
16
Dolby Atmos
Yes
Yes
DTS:X
Yes
Yes
Auro-3D
No
not stated
Room correction system
Audyssey MultEQ
Audyssey MultEQ XT
Measurement mic included
Yes
Yes
HDMI inputs
6
6
HDMI outputs
1
2
HDMI version
2.1
not stated
HDMI max bandwidth (Gbps)
40
40
HDMI 2.1 ports
3
not stated
HDMI eARC ports
1
1
Max passthrough resolution
8K 60
8K 60
HDR support
HDR10, HDR10+, Dolby Vision, HLG, Dynamic HDR
HDR10, Dolby Vision, HLG, HDR10+
VRR passthrough
Yes
Yes
ALLM passthrough
Yes
Yes
Phono input
Yes
Yes
Wi-Fi
Yes
Yes
Bluetooth
Yes
Yes
AirPlay 2
Yes
Yes
HEOS
Yes
Yes
Alexa built-in
Yes
not stated
IP control
Yes
not stated
Streaming services
Spotify Connect, Pandora, Amazon Music HD, TuneIn, Deezer, Tidal Connect
Spotify Connect, Tidal Connect, Amazon Music HD
Form factor
full size
full size
Width (in)
17.1
17.1
Height (in)
6
6.6
Depth (in)
13.3
13
Weight (lbs)
19
21
Power consumption (W)
400
500
Shaded rows differ · green dot = lab-measured · amber = manufacturer-verified · blue = retailer/community-reported · grey = estimated · “not stated” means exactly that
Reading the numbers honestly
Power reads like-for-like — 75W (S760H) vs 90W (S970H), both at 8Ω, two channels driven, 0.08% THD — a real but modest ~0.8 dB. The genuine step is elsewhere: the S970H carries Audyssey MultEQ XT where the S760H has base MultEQ (fewer measurement points, per Audyssey's own tiering), states four full-bandwidth HDMI 2.1 ports where the S760H's count is unstated, and adds a second HDMI output.
Compatibility · computed, not written
Checked against a bookshelf that dips to a stated 3.5Ω like the KEF LS50 Meta: KEF LS50 Meta
Can the Denon AVR-S760H drive the KEF LS50 Meta?
Denon AVR-S760H states a 4Ω-minimum rating; the KEF LS50 Meta dips to a stated 3.5Ω minimum, a little below that floor. Most receivers handle a marginal dip at normal volumes — it's worth watching only at very high output on an entry-level unit.
Can the Denon AVR-S970H drive the KEF LS50 Meta?
Denon AVR-S970H states a 4Ω-minimum rating; the KEF LS50 Meta dips to a stated 3.5Ω minimum, a little below that floor. Most receivers handle a marginal dip at normal volumes — it's worth watching only at very high output on an entry-level unit.
Computed from the catalog's normalized fields — the same fields the builder's compatibility engine reads. A missing field reads as "can't check", never as a pass.
Buy the Denon AVR-S970H if the price gap on the day is modest — the XT room correction, stated 4 HDMI 2.1 ports, and second HDMI output are real stated upgrades. The S760H does the same core 7.2 Atmos job with the same 4–16Ω rating, so a big price gap changes the answer.
Like-for-like power: 75W vs 90W, both stated at 8Ω / two channels driven / 0.08% THD (~0.8 dB) — the stored context makes the S-ladder comparable end to end.
Room correction is a stated tier step within one family: base Audyssey MultEQ (S760H) vs MultEQ XT (S970H).
The S970H states 4 full-bandwidth HDMI 2.1 ports and 2 HDMI outputs; the S760H states 1 output and no 2.1 port count in our data.
Both state a 4–16Ω impedance rating and 7.2 channels with two sub pre-outs — the platform fundamentals don't move.