This one is decided by the room, not the spec sheet. The OLED55C6 is the 55-inch, self-lit OLED with a 165 Hz refresh rate as LG's product page states it (footnoted; the line we hold does not say whether that is the native or the variable rate); the 65QM8K is the 65-inch QD-Mini LED with up to 3,800 local dimming zones and a 144 Hz native refresh, both on TCL's sheet — two refresh figures stated differently, so neither is ranked. Both state Dolby Vision, Filmmaker Mode and Dolby Atmos. If the larger screen is what you are after, the TCL is the 65-inch option here; if the OLED panel type is, the LG is. For a wall mount, only the TCL row records a VESA pattern, dimensions and a weight. This page does not rank the two pictures: neither row records a measured brightness, contrast or colour figure, and OLED and Mini-LED trade strengths that no shared field here captures.
As tracked by Home Theater Builder: the LG OLED55C6PUA tracks at $1,300; the TCL 65QM8K at $738.How we verify this data →
LG's OLED55C6 and TCL's 65QM8K are two different answers to one question: a self-lit OLED panel at 55 inches, or a Mini-LED set with local dimming at 65 inches. This page compares different sizes on purpose: LG's C6 also comes in a 65-inch class (OLED65C6), which this page does not cover. Both state Dolby Vision, Filmmaker Mode and Dolby Atmos, and both state a high refresh rate for gaming. What decides it is the screen size you want and the panel type you prefer — and, for the install, which row records the details you need.
Specifications · side by side · per-field provenance
● SOURCE-TRACKED
Spec
LG OLED55C6PUA
TCL 65QM8K
Price
$1,300
$738
Brand
LG
TCL
Screen size (in)
55
65
Panel type
OLED evo
Mini-LED QLED
Native resolution
4K UHD
4K UHD
Native refresh rate (Hz)
165
144
Dolby Vision
Yes
Yes
Filmmaker Mode
Yes
Yes
VRR support
Yes
Yes
VRR types
GSync Compatible, FreeSync
not stated
Dolby Atmos output
Yes
Yes
Operating system
webOS
Google TV
Local dimming zones
not stated
3800
HDR10
not stated
Yes
HDR10+
not stated
Yes
HDMI max bandwidth (Gbps)
not stated
48
HDMI total ports
not stated
4
eARC port
not stated
Yes
USB ports
not stated
2
Wi-Fi
not stated
Yes
Width, no stand (in)
not stated
56.5
Height, no stand (in)
not stated
32.4
Depth, no stand (in)
not stated
2
Weight, no stand (lbs)
not stated
46.5
VESA pattern (mm)
not stated
300x300
Shaded rows differ · green dot = lab-measured · amber = manufacturer-verified · blue = retailer/community-reported · grey = estimated · “not stated” means exactly that
Reading the numbers honestly
Almost every field cited here is manufacturer-stated: the LG's from LG's product page, the TCL's from TCL's spec sheet. The one exception is the TCL's VRR support, which comes from a retailer review rather than TCL — the LG's VRR, with G-Sync Compatible and FreeSync named, is manufacturer-stated. Refresh: 165 Hz as LG's product page states it (footnoted; the line we hold does not say whether that is the native or the variable rate) against 144 Hz native on TCL's sheet — stated differently, so reported, not ranked. Panel: OLED evo against QD-Mini LED with up to 3,800 local dimming zones; an OLED has no dimming zones to count, so the zone figure describes the TCL and ranks nothing. Size: a 55-inch class against a 65-inch class — the plainest practical difference on the page. The TCL row records HDR10 and HDR10+, four HDMI inputs with one eARC, two USB ports, Wi-Fi, and a 56.5 × 32.4 × 2.0-inch body at 46.5 lb with a 300 × 300 mm VESA pattern; our LG row records none of those fields, which is a blank and not an LG no. Neither row records a peak-brightness or measured picture figure.
Compatibility · computed, not written
Checked as the display leg behind a popular budget receiver, the Denon AVR-X1800H: Denon AVR-X1800H
Does the LG OLED55C6PUA keep VRR through a receiver like the Denon AVR-X1800H?
LG OLED55C6PUA supports VRR and the Denon AVR-X1800H passes VRR through — the variable-refresh chain holds with a console wired through the receiver.
Does the TCL 65QM8K keep VRR through a receiver like the Denon AVR-X1800H?
TCL 65QM8K supports VRR and the Denon AVR-X1800H passes VRR through — the variable-refresh chain holds with a console wired through the receiver.
Computed from the catalog's normalized fields — the same fields the builder's compatibility engine reads. A missing field reads as "can't check", never as a pass.
This one is decided by the room, not the spec sheet. The OLED55C6 is the 55-inch, self-lit OLED with a 165 Hz refresh rate as LG's product page states it (footnoted; the line we hold does not say whether that is the native or the variable rate); the 65QM8K is the 65-inch QD-Mini LED with up to 3,800 local dimming zones and a 144 Hz native refresh, both on TCL's sheet — two refresh figures stated differently, so neither is ranked. Both state Dolby Vision, Filmmaker Mode and Dolby Atmos. If the larger screen is what you are after, the TCL is the 65-inch option here; if the OLED panel type is, the LG is. For a wall mount, only the TCL row records a VESA pattern, dimensions and a weight. This page does not rank the two pictures: neither row records a measured brightness, contrast or colour figure, and OLED and Mini-LED trade strengths that no shared field here captures.
A 65-inch screenTCL 65QM8K — The TCL is a 65-inch class set and the LG a 55-inch class, both manufacturer-stated.
An OLED panelLG OLED55C6PUA — OLED evo, manufacturer-stated on the LG; the TCL is QD-Mini LED with up to 3,800 local dimming zones.
Gaming refresh rateEither — 165 Hz as LG's product page states it (footnoted; the line we hold does not say whether that is the native or the variable rate) against 144 Hz native on TCL's sheet — stated differently, so reported, not ranked. The LG names G-Sync Compatible and FreeSync; the TCL's VRR support comes from a retailer review, not TCL.
Planning a wall mountTCL 65QM8K — 56.5 × 32.4 × 2.0 inches, 46.5 lb and a 300 × 300 mm VESA pattern on TCL's sheet; our LG row records no dimensions, weight or VESA pattern.
Dolby Vision and AtmosEither — Dolby Vision, Filmmaker Mode and Dolby Atmos are manufacturer-stated on both rows.
Picture qualityEither — Neither row records a measured brightness, contrast or colour figure, so nothing here ranks the two pictures.
Size is the headline difference: a 55-inch class OLED against a 65-inch class Mini-LED, both manufacturer-stated.
Refresh reads 165 Hz as LG's product page states it (footnoted; the line we hold does not say whether that is the native or the variable rate) against 144 Hz native on TCL's spec sheet — stated differently, so reported, not ranked; the LG names G-Sync Compatible and FreeSync, while the TCL's VRR support comes from a retailer review, not TCL.
TCL's sheet states up to 3,800 local dimming zones; an OLED panel has no zones to count, so the figure describes the TCL and ranks nothing.
Dolby Vision, Filmmaker Mode and Dolby Atmos are manufacturer-stated on both rows.
Only the TCL row lets you plan a mount: 56.5 × 32.4 × 2.0 inches, 46.5 lb and a 300 × 300 mm VESA pattern, against no dimensions, weight or VESA pattern on our LG row.
HDR10, HDR10+, four HDMI inputs with one eARC, two USB ports and Wi-Fi are on TCL's sheet and not on file for the LG — a blank on our row, not an LG no.