Subwoofers · Head to head

REL Acoustics HT/1205 MKII vs SVS SB-2000 Pro

Two 12-inch sealed subwoofers — one stated, one inferred — which should you buy?
Try both in a build →REL Acoustics HT/1205 MKII in the slot, SVS SB-2000 Pro one swap away.

The short answer

The two rows agree on the alignment and the driver — sealed, single 12-inch, Class D — but only the REL states them outright, where the SVS row's driver size, driver count and configuration are inferences in our data and its sealed alignment is a retailer listing. Their amplifier figures are close enough to be one class: 550W RMS against 500W, both manufacturer-stated, or about 0.4 dB. Buy the SVS SB-2000 Pro for the controls and the only extension figure on the page: a 30–200 Hz low-pass range, variable 0–180° phase, app control and a 19 Hz ±3 dB claim — reading that last one as retailer-sourced rather than manufacturer-stated, along with its enclosure type, dimensions and weight. Buy the REL Acoustics HT/1205 MKII for what it states outright: two RCA inputs, an LFE input, White and Black finishes and a manufacturer-stated 43.2 lb cabinet, where the other row leaves finishes and RCA count blank.

Build around REL Acoustics HT/1205 MKIIBuild around SVS SB-2000 Pro
As tracked by Home Theater Builder: the REL Acoustics HT/1205 MKII tracks at $899; the SVS SB-2000 Pro at $850. How we verify this data →

REL's HT/1205 MKII and SVS's SB-2000 Pro are the same idea executed twice: a sealed, single 12-inch, Class D subwoofer — manufacturer-stated on the REL, inferred and retailer-sourced on the SVS — $899 vs $850 as tracked today. The amplifiers are close enough to be one class, so the sheets decide.

REL Acoustics
$899
As tracked in our catalog
Full specs & where to buy →
SVS SB-2000 ProMFR-VERIFIED
SVS
$850
As tracked in our catalog
Full specs & where to buy →

Specifications · side by side · per-field provenance

● SOURCE-TRACKED
SpecREL Acoustics HT/1205 MKIISVS SB-2000 Pro
Price$899$850
BrandREL AcousticsSVS
Driver size (in)1212
Driver count11
Driver configurationsinglesingle
Passive or poweredpowered activepowered active
Amplifier classClass DClass D
RMS power (W)500550
Enclosure typesealedsealed
Down firingNonot stated
Wireless optionYesYes
RCA inputs2not stated
LFE inputYesYes
Height (in)15.314.6
Width (in)16.314.2
Depth (in)17.317.1
Weight (lbs)43.238.6
Finish optionsWhite, Blacknot stated
Peak power (W)not stated1500
Frequency response, low (Hz)not stated19
Frequency response tolerancenot statedplus minus 3dB
Low-pass crossover, min (Hz)not stated30
Low-pass crossover, max (Hz)not stated200
Phase controlnot statedvariable 0 to 180
Phase adjustment range (°)not stated0° – 180°
Auto onnot statedYes
App controlnot statedYes
Shaded rows differ · green dot = lab-measured · amber = manufacturer-verified · blue = retailer/community-reported · grey = estimated · “not stated” means exactly that

Reading the numbers honestly

The one fully like-for-like reading on this page is the amplifier: 550W RMS on the SVS against 500W on the REL, both manufacturer-stated, which is roughly 0.4 dB and nothing a listener places — and only the SVS row records a peak figure (1,500W). Alignment and driver match too — sealed, single 12-inch, Class D on both rows — but only the REL states them outright: on the SVS row the 12-inch size, the driver count and the driver configuration are inferences in our data and the sealed alignment comes from a retailer listing, so the resemblance is recorded rather than verified. Extension exists on one row only — 19 Hz at a stated ±3 dB on the SVS, no frequency figure at all on the REL — and that figure needs a provenance flag rather than a ranking: the SVS's frequency, tolerance, enclosure type, dimensions and weight are ALL recorded from a retailer listing rather than the manufacturer, which is five of the fields an argument would otherwise rest on. Setup splits cleanly. The SVS states a 30–200 Hz low-pass range, variable 0–180° phase and app control, and its auto-on entry is an inference in our data. The REL states two RCA inputs, an LFE input, White and Black finish options and a manufacturer-stated 43.2 lb cabinet, where our SVS row records no finish field and no RCA count. Neither blank is a stated no.

The verdict

The two rows agree on the alignment and the driver — sealed, single 12-inch, Class D — but only the REL states them outright, where the SVS row's driver size, driver count and configuration are inferences in our data and its sealed alignment is a retailer listing. Their amplifier figures are close enough to be one class: 550W RMS against 500W, both manufacturer-stated, or about 0.4 dB. Buy the SVS SB-2000 Pro for the controls and the only extension figure on the page: a 30–200 Hz low-pass range, variable 0–180° phase, app control and a 19 Hz ±3 dB claim — reading that last one as retailer-sourced rather than manufacturer-stated, along with its enclosure type, dimensions and weight. Buy the REL Acoustics HT/1205 MKII for what it states outright: two RCA inputs, an LFE input, White and Black finishes and a manufacturer-stated 43.2 lb cabinet, where the other row leaves finishes and RCA count blank.

Alignment and driverEither — Both rows land on a sealed, single 12-inch, Class D design — but only the REL states the driver and the enclosure outright; on the SVS row the 12-inch size, the single-driver count and the sealed alignment are an inference and a retailer listing in our data, so the resemblance is recorded, not verified.
Stated amplifierSVS SB-2000 Pro — 550W RMS against 500W, both manufacturer-stated — about 0.4 dB — and only the SVS row records a peak figure (1,500W).
An extension figure at allSVS SB-2000 Pro — 19 Hz at a stated ±3 dB on the SVS row; our REL row records no frequency figure at all, though the SVS figure is retailer-sourced rather than manufacturer-stated.
Dialling it in from the subSVS SB-2000 Pro — A 30–200 Hz low-pass range, variable 0–180° phase and app control on the SVS; our REL row records none of the three.
Matching it to the roomREL Acoustics HT/1205 MKII — White and Black finish options are stated on the REL row; our SVS row records no finish field at all.
Connections you can countREL Acoustics HT/1205 MKII — Two RCA inputs and an LFE input are stated on the REL row; our SVS row states an LFE input but no RCA count.

Where to buy

CHEAPEST FIRST · NOT COMMISSION-RANKED
REL Acoustics HT/1205 MKII
$899
Cheapest tracked offer · rel.net
CHECKED TODAY
Buy at rel.net ↗
SVS SB-2000 Pro
Tracked at ProjectorScreen.com · price not quotable from a search page
CHECKED 5 DAYS AGO
Find at ProjectorScreen.com ↗
We may earn a commission at no cost to you; it never affects rankings or compatibility verdicts — those come from the data.

Still deciding?

SVS SB-2000 Pro vs SVS SB-1000 ProSVS SB-2000 Pro vs SVS SB-3000
Or start from your room instead: take the 60-second interview →

What our normalized data adds

NOT ON THE SPEC SHEETS
  • The one fully like-for-like reading here: 550W RMS against 500W, both manufacturer-stated, which is about 0.4 dB — and only the SVS row records a peak figure (1,500W).
  • The alignment question that usually decides a subwoofer page is settled asymmetrically here: the REL states its sealed enclosure, its single 12-inch driver and its Class D amplifier outright, where our SVS row states only the Class D amplifier — its 12-inch size, driver count and configuration are inferences in our data and its sealed enclosure comes from a retailer listing.
  • Only one extension figure exists on this page — 19 Hz at a stated ±3 dB on the SVS, against no frequency figure at all on the REL — so depth is reported as undocumented on one side and never ranked.
  • Provenance honesty, and it matters here: the SVS's frequency figure, tolerance, enclosure type, dimensions and weight are ALL retailer-sourced rather than manufacturer-stated — five of the fields the argument would otherwise rest on.
  • Three setup fields sit on the SVS row only — a 30–200 Hz low-pass range, variable 0–180° phase and app control — and its auto-on entry is an inference in our data rather than a stated figure.
  • It runs the other way on what you can see and plug in: the REL states White and Black finishes, two RCA inputs and a manufacturer-stated 43.2 lb cabinet, where our SVS row records no finish field and no RCA count.
Not the exact matchup you wanted?
Swap either product, or add a third, in the compare tool. Or read the guide: Apartment subwoofers: the best picks for small rooms and shared walls.
Add a third subwoofer to this comparison →Browse Subwoofers

More Subwoofers comparisons

SVS SB-2000 Pro vs SVS SB-1000 ProSVS SB-3000 vs SVS SB-2000 ProSVS SB-1000 Pro vs SVS PB-1000 ProSVS PB-2000 Pro vs Klipsch RP-1200SW