A sealed 10 against a sealed 12 — which should you buy?
Try both in a build →SVS SB-1000 Pro in the slot, REL Acoustics HT/1003 MKII one swap away.
The short answer
Buy the SVS SB-1000 Pro — on the fields both rows state, it brings the larger driver (12 inches against 10), the larger amplifier (325W RMS with a stated 820W peak against 300W RMS with no peak figure recorded) and the only checkable depth claim on the page, 20 Hz at a stated ±3 dB. It also states built-in room correction, app control, auto-on and a speaker-level input — four fields our REL row leaves blank. Buy the REL Acoustics HT/1003 MKII if its stated Black or White finish decides it, or if you can confirm on the manufacturer's page the connection options our row does not record, because a blank here is our silence and not a no.
As tracked by Home Theater Builder: the REL Acoustics HT/1003 MKII tracks at $649; the SVS SB-1000 Pro at $600.How we verify this data →
Two sealed, powered subwoofers at the entrance to the serious tier: a stated 10-inch REL against a stated 12-inch SVS, at $649 vs $600 as tracked today. One of the two rows says a great deal more than the other, and that is most of this page.
Specifications · side by side · per-field provenance
● SOURCE-TRACKED
Spec
REL Acoustics HT/1003 MKII
SVS SB-1000 Pro
Price
$649
$600
Brand
REL Acoustics
SVS
Driver size (in)
10
12
Driver configuration
single
single
Passive or powered
powered active
powered active
Amplifier class
Class D
Class D
RMS power (W)
300
325
Enclosure type
sealed
sealed
Port location
none
not stated
Down firing
No
No
Wireless option
Yes
Yes
RCA inputs
2
2
LFE input
Yes
Yes
Height (in)
13.3
13.5
Width (in)
14.3
13
Depth (in)
15.3
14.8
Weight (lbs)
34.2
26
Finish options
Black, White
not stated
Driver count
not stated
1
Peak power (W)
not stated
820
Frequency response, low (Hz)
not stated
20
Frequency response tolerance
not stated
plus minus 3dB
Auto on
not stated
Yes
Built-in room correction
not stated
Yes
App control
not stated
Yes
Speaker level inputs
not stated
Yes
Shaded rows differ · green dot = lab-measured · amber = manufacturer-verified · blue = retailer/community-reported · grey = estimated · “not stated” means exactly that
Reading the numbers honestly
The two rows agree on the alignment and part company almost everywhere else. Sealed is stated on both — the REL goes further and states its port location as 'none', an explicit confirmation rather than an inference from the model name — so both roll off the gentle way into the room gain a small room hands back for free. From there the SVS row states a 12-inch driver, 325W RMS with an 820W peak, a 20 Hz floor at ±3 dB, built-in room correction, app control, auto-on and a speaker-level input. Our REL row states a 10-inch driver and 300W RMS with no peak figure, no frequency-extension figure and no tolerance, and none of those four control fields. Two honesty notes on that. A blank in our data is a silence, not a stated 'no'. And our REL row records two RCA inputs and an LFE input but no speaker-level input at all, which is worth confirming on the manufacturer's page before you buy. One thing inverts what the driver sizes imply: the 10-inch sub is the heavier one, 34.2 lb in a 14.3 × 15.3-inch footprint against 26 lb in a 13 × 14.8-inch one.
The verdict
Buy the SVS SB-1000 Pro — on the fields both rows state, it brings the larger driver (12 inches against 10), the larger amplifier (325W RMS with a stated 820W peak against 300W RMS with no peak figure recorded) and the only checkable depth claim on the page, 20 Hz at a stated ±3 dB. It also states built-in room correction, app control, auto-on and a speaker-level input — four fields our REL row leaves blank. Buy the REL Acoustics HT/1003 MKII if its stated Black or White finish decides it, or if you can confirm on the manufacturer's page the connection options our row does not record, because a blank here is our silence and not a no.
Stated outputSVS SB-1000 Pro — A 12-inch driver with 325W RMS and a stated 820W peak, against a 10-inch driver with 300W RMS and no peak figure in our data.
A depth claim you can checkSVS SB-1000 Pro — 20 Hz at a stated ±3 dB; our REL row records no extension figure and no tolerance to compare it with.
Room correction and controlSVS SB-1000 Pro — The SVS states built-in room correction, app control and auto-on; our REL row states none of the three.
Sealed behaviorEither — Both rows state a sealed enclosure — the REL even states its port location as none — so both roll off gently into room gain.
Finish choiceREL Acoustics HT/1003 MKII — The REL states Black and White finish options; our SVS row records no finish field at all.
Footprint and massSVS SB-1000 Pro — 26 lb in a 13 × 14.8-inch footprint against 34.2 lb in a 14.3 × 15.3-inch one — the smaller-driver sub is the heavier object.
Stated driver and amplifier: a 12-inch with 325W RMS and an 820W peak against a 10-inch with 300W RMS and NO peak figure recorded — the peak column exists on only one of these rows.
Only one extension claim exists to compare: 20 Hz at a stated ±3 dB on the SVS, against no frequency-extension figure and no tolerance on the REL — depth is reported as undocumented, not ranked.
Both are sealed by their own stated fields, and the REL states its port location as 'none' — an explicit sealed confirmation rather than an inference from the model name.
Four control fields the SVS states and our REL row leaves blank: built-in room correction, app control, auto-on and a speaker-level input — and in three-state data a blank is a silence, never a 'no'.
The stated cabinets invert the driver sizes: 34.2 lb in a 14.3 × 15.3-inch footprint for the 10-inch REL against 26 lb in a 13 × 14.8-inch one for the 12-inch SVS, at $649 vs $600 as tracked today.