Buy the Yamaha RX-A6A unless you need eleven amplified channels or Auro-3D — the flagship RX-A8A's amplifier is rated identically (150W, same context), so the premium buys topology and formats, not power. For a 5.x.4 room the A6A's nine amplified channels already cover the whole layout.
As tracked by Home Theater Builder: the Yamaha RX-A6A tracks at $3,000; the Yamaha RX-A8A at $2,600.How we verify this data →
The top of the AVENTAGE range, where the surprise is what the flagship premium does NOT buy: more rated power. Both state exactly the same amplifier figure.
Specifications · side by side · per-field provenance
● SOURCE-TRACKED
Spec
Yamaha RX-A6A
Yamaha RX-A8A
Price
$3,000
$2,600
Brand
Yamaha
Yamaha
Channel configuration
9.2
11.2
Main channels
9
11
Processing channels
11
11
Subwoofer pre-outs
2
2
Zone 2 capable
Yes
Yes
Zone 3 capable
Yes
Yes
Watts per channel (8 Ω)
150
150
THD (%)
0.06
0.06
Channels driven (power rating)
two channels driven
two channels driven
Impedance range
Front: 4 Ω or more; Other: 6 Ω or more (default 8 Ω)
Front: 4 Ω or more; Other: 6 Ω or more (default 8 Ω)
Speaker impedance, min (Ω)
4
4
Speaker impedance, max (Ω)
8
8
Dolby Atmos
Yes
Yes
DTS:X
Yes
Yes
Auro-3D
Yes
not stated
Room correction system
YPAO RSC
YPAO RSC
HDMI inputs
7
7
HDMI outputs
3
3
HDMI max bandwidth (Gbps)
40
40
HDMI eARC ports
1
1
HDMI 2.1 native at launch
No
not stated
Max passthrough resolution
4K 60
4K 60
HDR support
HDR10, Dolby Vision, HLG
HDR10, Dolby Vision, HLG
VRR passthrough
Yes
not stated
ALLM passthrough
Yes
not stated
Phono input
Yes
Yes
Wi-Fi
Yes
Yes
Bluetooth
Yes
Yes
AirPlay 2
Yes
Yes
MusicCast
Yes
Yes
Streaming services
Spotify Connect, Tidal Connect, Deezer, Pandora, Amazon Music HD, Qobuz
Spotify Connect, Amazon Music HD, Pandora, Tidal Connect, Deezer, Qobuz
Form factor
full size
full size
Width (in)
17.1
17.1
Height (in)
7.5
7.5
Depth (in)
17.4
18.8
Weight (lbs)
41.2
47.2
Alexa built-in
not stated
Yes
Shaded rows differ · green dot = lab-measured · amber = manufacturer-verified · blue = retailer/community-reported · grey = estimated · “not stated” means exactly that
Reading the numbers honestly
150W at 8Ω, two channels driven, 0.06% THD — stated identically on both. What the RX-A8A adds is channels and formats: 11 amplified channels to the A6A's 9, stated Auro-3D decoding, three stated full-bandwidth HDMI 2.1 ports, and a stated 8K/60 passthrough ceiling. Both carry 11 curated processing channels and YPAO RSC. One curated honesty flag on the A6A: its HDMI 2.1 feature set is recorded as not native at launch (delivered by later update) — worth knowing when buying used or old stock.
Compatibility · computed, not written
Checked against a bookshelf that dips to a stated 3.5Ω like the KEF LS50 Meta: KEF LS50 Meta
Can the Yamaha RX-A6A drive the KEF LS50 Meta?
Yamaha RX-A6A states a 4Ω-minimum rating; the KEF LS50 Meta dips to a stated 3.5Ω minimum, a little below that floor. Most receivers handle a marginal dip at normal volumes — it's worth watching only at very high output on an entry-level unit.
Can the Yamaha RX-A8A drive the KEF LS50 Meta?
Yamaha RX-A8A states a 4Ω-minimum rating; the KEF LS50 Meta dips to a stated 3.5Ω minimum, a little below that floor. Most receivers handle a marginal dip at normal volumes — it's worth watching only at very high output on an entry-level unit.
Computed from the catalog's normalized fields — the same fields the builder's compatibility engine reads. A missing field reads as "can't check", never as a pass.
Buy the Yamaha RX-A6A unless you need eleven amplified channels or Auro-3D — the flagship RX-A8A's amplifier is rated identically (150W, same context), so the premium buys topology and formats, not power. For a 5.x.4 room the A6A's nine amplified channels already cover the whole layout.
7.x.4 from one chassisYamaha RX-A8A — 11 amplified channels stated vs 9 — the only way to power that layout without an external amp.
Auro-3D contentYamaha RX-A8A — Stated on the A8A; not stated on the A6A.
5.x.4 and sanityYamaha RX-A6A — Identical 150W rating, same YPAO RSC, same 11 curated processing channels — and nine amplified channels already cover a full 5.x.4.
The flagship premium buys ZERO rated watts: both state 150W at 8Ω / two channels driven / 0.06% THD — identical value, identical context.
11 vs 9 amplified channels (both with 11 curated processing channels) — the A8A powers a 7.x.4 layout natively; the A6A needs an external amp for the last pair.
The A8A states Auro-3D and three full-bandwidth HDMI 2.1 ports; the A6A carries a curated flag that its HDMI 2.1 features were NOT native at launch (later firmware) — a used-market caveat our data preserves.
Not the exact matchup you wanted?
Swap either product, or add a third, in the compare tool.