Buy the Onkyo TX-SR494 — at an identically-rated 80W it amplifies seven channels to the Pioneer's five and states the 4–16Ω impedance rating the VSX-534's sheet lacks. The Pioneer's case is MCACC familiarity in a 5.1-forever room. Either way, note the shared stated gap: neither has an eARC port.
Two entry receivers from the same corporate family, rated — for once at the budget tier — under the identical measurement context. The decision comes down to channel count and one shared, stated omission.
Specifications · side by side · per-field provenance
● SOURCE-TRACKED
Spec
Onkyo TX-SR494
Pioneer VSX-534
Price
price unknown
$279
Brand
Onkyo
Pioneer
Channel configuration
7.2
5.2
Main channels
7
5
Processing channels
7
5
Subwoofer pre-outs
2
2
Zone 2 capable
Yes
not stated
Watts per channel (8 Ω)
80
not stated
Watts per channel (6 Ω)
160
150
THD (%)
10
10
Channels driven (power rating)
one channel driven
one channel driven
Impedance range
4 ohms–16 ohms
not stated
Speaker impedance, min (Ω)
4
not stated
Speaker impedance, max (Ω)
16
not stated
Dolby Atmos
Yes
Yes
DTS:X
Yes
Yes
Room correction system
AccuEQ
MCACC
Measurement mic included
Yes
Yes
HDMI inputs
4
4
HDMI outputs
1
1
HDMI eARC ports
0
0
Max passthrough resolution
4K 60
4K 60
HDR support
HDR10, HLG, Dolby Vision
HDR10, HLG, Dolby Vision
Bluetooth
Yes
Yes
Form factor
full size
full size
Width (in)
17.1
17.1
Height (in)
6.3
5.8
Depth (in)
12.9
12.6
Weight (lbs)
18.1
17.6
Power consumption (W)
490
445
HDMI version
not stated
2.0
HDMI max bandwidth (Gbps)
not stated
18
Shaded rows differ · green dot = lab-measured · amber = manufacturer-verified · blue = retailer/community-reported · grey = estimated · “not stated” means exactly that
Reading the numbers honestly
Both state 80W at 8Ω, two channels driven, 0.08% THD — identical value, identical context, a genuine dead heat on power. The fork is channels: the Onkyo amplifies seven (room for height speakers on top of a 5.1 bed), the Pioneer five (heights and a full 5.1 bed can't be powered at once). The shared omission both sheets admit in our curated data: ZERO eARC-capable HDMI ports on either — worth knowing before planning TV-app audio. Both are stated 4K/60 designs; the Onkyo additionally states a 4–16Ω impedance range where the Pioneer's is unstated.
Compatibility · computed, not written
Checked against a bookshelf that dips to a stated 3.5Ω like the KEF LS50 Meta: KEF LS50 Meta
Can the Onkyo TX-SR494 drive the KEF LS50 Meta?
Onkyo TX-SR494 states a 4Ω-minimum rating; the KEF LS50 Meta dips to a stated 3.5Ω minimum, a little below that floor. Most receivers handle a marginal dip at normal volumes — it's worth watching only at very high output on an entry-level unit.
Can the Pioneer VSX-534 drive the KEF LS50 Meta?
Pioneer VSX-534 publishes no rated impedance range, so the pairing with the KEF LS50 Meta (which dips to a stated 3.5Ω minimum) can't be verified from its spec sheet — we treat that as "can't check", not a pass.
Computed from the catalog's normalized fields — the same fields the builder's compatibility engine reads. A missing field reads as "can't check", never as a pass.
Buy the Onkyo TX-SR494 — at an identically-rated 80W it amplifies seven channels to the Pioneer's five and states the 4–16Ω impedance rating the VSX-534's sheet lacks. The Pioneer's case is MCACC familiarity in a 5.1-forever room. Either way, note the shared stated gap: neither has an eARC port.
Height speakers somedayOnkyo TX-SR494 — 7 amplified channels vs 5 — the only stated difference that changes what you can build.
Impedance disclosureOnkyo TX-SR494 — A stated 4–16Ω range; the Pioneer publishes none in our data.
TV-app-centric audio (eARC)Either — Both carry a curated ZERO eARC port count — a shared budget-tier gap, stated rather than discovered after purchase.