EPV Screens EF115HUST-DS2 vs Elite Screens Aeon CLR 3 115"
Two 115" UST-class ALR screens, identical stated 0.8 gain — which should you buy?
Try both in a build →EPV Screens EF115HUST-DS2 in the slot, Elite Screens Aeon CLR 3 115" one swap away.
The short answer
These two rows document the same screen job at the same size — 115" 16:9 at a stated 0.8 gain, in the lenticular UST material our compatibility engine treats as one class — and nothing either sheet states separates the picture. Take the EPV EF115HUST-DS2 for the fuller physical sheet: viewable width and height, a 0.4-inch border, a black frame and a five-year warranty, none of which our Elite row records. Take the Elite Aeon CLR 3 115" for the stated wall-mount installation method and aluminum frame our EPV row leaves blank, and for a screen family our catalog already documents at a second diagonal. The half-gain figures look like a 160-against-85 gap and are not one: the field stores degrees from center, 90° is the limit, and the 160 is a full cone landing unconverted — read like for like the two cones are near-identical.
Same diagonal, same aspect ratio, same stated gain: 115" 16:9 at 0.8 apiece. From there the sheets diverge on material-class naming, on how each row states its viewing angle, and on which fields each one bothers to fill in. Whether either is priced on the day is a question for the price row above, not for this copy.
Specifications · side by side · per-field provenance
● SOURCE-TRACKED
Spec
EPV Screens EF115HUST-DS2
Elite Screens Aeon CLR 3 115"
Price
price unknown
price unknown
Brand
EPV Screens
Elite Screens
Screen type
fixed frame
fixed frame
Diagonal (in)
115
115
Aspect ratio
16:9
16:9
Viewable width (in)
100.2
not stated
Viewable height (in)
56.4
not stated
Border width (in)
0.4
not stated
Gain
0.8
0.8
Material type
UST ALR
CLR ceiling light rejecting
Half-gain angle (°)
160
85
Frame color
black
not stated
Warranty (years)
5
2
Installation
not stated
wall mount
Frame material
not stated
aluminum
Shaded rows differ · green dot = lab-measured · amber = manufacturer-verified · blue = retailer/community-reported · grey = estimated · “not stated” means exactly that
Reading the numbers honestly
The material names differ even though the underlying job doesn't: EPV states the generic UST_ALR class, while Elite states its branded CLR (ceiling-light-rejecting) class — different vocabulary for the same lenticular UST-screen material our compatibility engine treats as one class. The viewing angle needs a caveat rather than a ranking. `half_gain_angle_degrees` stores degrees FROM CENTER, and 90° is the physical limit — so the 160 on our EPV row cannot be an off-center half-angle. It is that maker's published full CONE landing unconverted in an off-center field, the same error our Akia row carries at 180° and the same figure Silver Ticket publishes for a screen our data correctly stores at 80° from center. Read like for like it is about 80° from center against Elite's stated 85° — near-identical cones, and if anything marginally the other way round from what the raw numbers suggest. So we flag the field instead of ranking it, and the EPV ROW still needs a data fix. What is left is a disclosure comparison, and it runs in both directions: EPV states its viewable width and height, a 0.4-inch border, a black frame and a five-year warranty; Elite states a wall-mount installation method, an aluminum frame and a two-year warranty. One internal note: this 115-inch Aeon CLR 3 is the sized sibling of the 103-inch Aeon CLR 3 already compared elsewhere in our catalog against the original Aeon CLR — same screen family, different diagonal.
The verdict
These two rows document the same screen job at the same size — 115" 16:9 at a stated 0.8 gain, in the lenticular UST material our compatibility engine treats as one class — and nothing either sheet states separates the picture. Take the EPV EF115HUST-DS2 for the fuller physical sheet: viewable width and height, a 0.4-inch border, a black frame and a five-year warranty, none of which our Elite row records. Take the Elite Aeon CLR 3 115" for the stated wall-mount installation method and aluminum frame our EPV row leaves blank, and for a screen family our catalog already documents at a second diagonal. The half-gain figures look like a 160-against-85 gap and are not one: the field stores degrees from center, 90° is the limit, and the 160 is a full cone landing unconverted — read like for like the two cones are near-identical.
Reading the two half-gain anglesEither — Our EPV row stores 160 and our Elite row 85, but the field is degrees FROM CENTER and 90° is the physical limit — so the 160 is a published full cone landing unconverted. Like for like that is about 80° from center against 85°: near-identical, flagged rather than ranked, and a data fix owed on the EPV row.
The fuller physical sheetEPV Screens EF115HUST-DS2 — EPV states its viewable width and height, a 0.4-inch border, a black frame and a five-year warranty; our Elite row records none of those.
Stated install and frameElite Screens Aeon CLR 3 115" — Elite states a wall-mount installation method and an aluminum frame; our EPV row states neither, so a wall plan cannot be checked against its sheet.
Buying into an existing family lineElite Screens Aeon CLR 3 115" — This 115" Aeon CLR 3 is the sized sibling of the 103" Aeon CLR 3 already compared against the original Aeon CLR in our catalog.
Price on the dayEither — Whichever figures the price row above actually carries. Our data does not always hold a tracked price for a screen at this size, and we never infer one.
Identical stated 0.8 gain and identical 115" 16:9 diagonal — a genuinely like-for-like size/gain match, rare in this category.
Material-class naming differs for the same job: EPV states the generic UST_ALR class; Elite states its branded CLR (ceiling-light-rejecting) class — our compatibility engine treats both as the same lenticular UST-screen material.
The half-gain angles are NOT the 160-against-85 gap they look like, and this page is where that gets said: the field stores degrees FROM CENTER, where 90° is the physical limit, so the 160 on our EPV row is a published full CONE landing unconverted in an off-center field. Read like for like it is about 80° from center against Elite's 85° — near-identical cones. We flag the field rather than rank it, and the EPV row still owes a data fix.
Disclosure runs in opposite directions across the rest of the sheet: EPV states its viewable width and height, a 0.4-inch border, a black frame and a five-year warranty; Elite states a wall-mount installation method, an aluminum frame and a two-year warranty. Each row fills a blank the other leaves.
Family link: this Elite 115" Aeon CLR 3 and the 103" Aeon CLR 3 we compare against the original Aeon CLR are sized versions of the same screen family — same material recipe, different diagonal.